Hard drive not loading randomly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2006, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Hard drive not loading randomly

I was running an older program on winxp pro, when I got to the actual game it didnt work correctly. So I decided to try win98 simulation as a last effort. Dont ever do it by the way, it doesnt work. Anyway game totally locks up, and now just like win98 you cant do anything. I guess it simulating win98 in the sense that it totally ****ed up. So I hit the restart button on my comp for its the only thing I can do. Now the hard drive wont load. Bios seems fine, I get 'registering DMI pool ............' then it just sits there. Ive cleared cmos, reset defaults. No, there isnt anything wrong with the hard drive. I've put it in this backup comp, loads perfectly. The computer will boot off cds, it just wont boot off the hard drive. If it helps:

Intel Pentium 4 2.8ghz lga775 (64bit)
MSI Neo3-V
2x512mb corsair ram
WD 80gb sata hard drive
Radeon 9800 pro 256mb
__________________

baconman is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 12:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

It sounds like you need to get a new hard drive. I have had older drives (only 20 Gig drives and lower) fail on me (all Western Digital) in recent years.... I usually got "PRIMARY MASTER HARD DISK FAILURE" or something along those lines... Some times I got different errors, sometimes I didn't... If I restarted the machine every time it did that, it would actually boot after like 10 - 15 minutes, sometimes less.... Eventually the drive failed, and I lost everything.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 12:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I suppose that could happen, its a couple years old. But like I said before that hard drive loads perfectly fine on this computer. I'm going to try this hard drive on that computer and see what happens..
baconman is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Oye... Even after I posted that, I RE-READ your first post, saw nothing, then READ IT AGAIN.... THEN saw you put it in another computer... lol, sorry man, I think I should go to sleep now....
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 12:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Actually I think you were right. I booted off the newer comp that wouldnt boot before with another hard drive. It works. It just wont boot off the old hard drive. (Theyre both 80gb satas) I think you were right, its probably going to die. Im backing up everything now to make sure. Thanks.
baconman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.