Hard drive model for gateway model MS290? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2015, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Default Hard drive model for gateway model MS290?

I have a Gateway model MS2290 that I brought in for repairs and was told the hard drive was junk. I want to buy a new hard drive off of ebay and install it myself, but I'm not sure which hard drive will work or fit. Does someone know or have any advice about this? Thanks!
__________________

Muskitballs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 06:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubliminalX7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: 10.0.0.NO
Posts: 239
Default Re: Hard drive model for gateway model MS290?

Is it this?

Gateway MS2290/NV79C47U
__________________

__________________
Under_Score
------------------------------------------------
CPU: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 3.4 GHz | Cooling: Just Fans | Motherboard: BioStar Tz68K+ | RAM: Cosair Vengeance16GB (4X4GB) DDR3 @ 1600MHz | Graphics: Nvidia Geforce 560 TI | HDD: 1 TB Western Digital (want SSD for OS) | Sound: On-Board sound | PSU: CORSAIR HX Series HX850 850W | Case: Cooler Master CM Storm Scout SGC-2100-KWN3 | OS's: Window 7 Professional x64, Kali Linux 1.0.9 | Display: Dell 24-inch HD, Samsung 24-inch HD
SubliminalX7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Hard drive model for gateway model MS290?

Very close. It's NV79C49U. I'm guessing it would be the same hard drive?
Muskitballs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 08:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Hard drive model for gateway model MS290?

According to the specs I could find for that model...it will take any standard laptop-sized 2.5" SATA HDD (or SSD).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 08:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Default Re: Hard drive model for gateway model MS290?

Cool - thanks! I think I found the correct one on ebay. When I install it, do I need to do any programming or is it good to go as soon as it is installed?
Muskitballs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 08:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Hard drive model for gateway model MS290?

Well you'll need to install the OS - but that should be it.

I wouldn't buy a used HDD honestly... who knows what kind of abuse its been through or how much life it has left.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 08:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Default

It's a brand new hdd. Im guessing you just buy an operating system, put in a disk, and it will guide you through the process, is that right? (As you can tell, I'm no computer wiz, ha ha.)
Muskitballs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 09:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Hard drive model for gateway model MS290?

Correct.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 10:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you guys...
Muskitballs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 10:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 7
Default

Does it matter if its 32 or 64 bit?
__________________

Muskitballs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need some help with my windows 7 installation on a gateway laptop. (hard drive driver error) Beefdawg Microsoft Windows and Software 1 09-16-2011 10:27 AM
OSI model vs. TCP/IP model Siyamak Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 01-19-2007 08:11 PM
Gateway to gateway VPN SBS ISA firewall heals1ic Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 10-20-2006 06:34 PM
How to copy from slave hard drive to master hard drive? blackninja Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 03-26-2005 07:06 PM
Move 30GB Hard Drive Data To New 120GB Hard Drive DavidWatersUGP Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 11-19-2004 07:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.