hard drive may be failing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2008, 07:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default hard drive may be failing

I built my own pc a little while back. Everything was going good but it started going downhill when my pc would get so slow it would take forever to open up anything and the activity light would stay on constantly. Now when I turn my pc on, I get a message about a hard drive problem and it asks me if I want to back everything up. Right now everything is working fine.

Does this mean my hard drive is failing? Is there anything I can do to fix it or should I just wait until it fails? Luckily I have 2 hard drives and all of my information is on the second hard drive. The hard drive that is having problems has windows installed.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 09:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: hard drive may be failing

try gettin hd tune see what that says(health section/error scan):

HD Tune
__________________

__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: hard drive may be failing

What are the specs of the drive? Have you run a checkdisk on it yet?
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 11:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: hard drive may be failing

It is a WD2500YS 250gb. No I haven't run a checkdisk on it. How do I do that? I am thinking I go through ms-dos but not sure.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 12:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: hard drive may be failing

Go into "my computer"
right click on that drive > properties
click the tools tab
click on error checking click "check now"
Click both of the check boxes, then click start.
It will ask you to reboot, tell it yes. go get a beer and come back in 30 minutes.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 12:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: hard drive may be failing

Okay I will do that later. Right now I am running HD Tune and using the error scan and so far no errors. It is about 3/4 of the way done. I will use checkdisk after this is done.

HD Tune is done and it found 1.7% damaged blocks. Also under the health section, at the bottom it says health status failed.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-29-2008, 10:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: hard drive may be failing

Sounds liek the HDD is in for a bit of troubled times ahead. See if you can get the check disk done.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 08:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: hard drive may be failing

Well I got the checkdisk done and everything seems back to normal. I have not received the message from Windows about a hard drive problem. But under HD Tune in the health section, it still says health status failed. I did a quick error scan with HD Tune and no blocks were damaged. I am going to do a full scan to see if any blocks are damaged.

Since I ran checkdisk, my computer has not been real slow like before. The activity light has not came on either.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 10:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: hard drive may be failing

When you run checkdisk, basically if it finds a bad sector, it deletes that sector, and writes whatever was on it to a good sector, then locks out that sector so that it wont get used anymore.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: hard drive may be failing

So it is ok to keep using this hard drive? Or should I contact WD about the warranty?

Thanks for all the help.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive & BIOS settings questions... Danja79 System Upgrades 10 03-10-2008 10:33 AM
Problem with Hard Drive lettering in DUAL BOOTING PC Rastafari Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-03-2008 04:38 PM
XP using wrong hard drive Pericles Microsoft Windows and Software 14 08-21-2007 03:55 AM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM
Hard Drive Question Parky-RFC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-28-2007 09:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.