Hard Drive issues-Newer to this. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2012, 11:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default Hard Drive issues-Newer to this.

I built a Computer a couple of years ago under the supervision of a friend with whom I am no longer acquainted. Long story short, I had to replace my MASTER Hard Drive ad V-Card this last week.

As a precursor I should say that ORIGINALLY I had Win 7 but went with Win 7 Ultimate on the new Master Drive.

Issue I am having: I can't access any of the approx. 1 TB worth of Files I have on my SLAVE Hard Drive. I haven't even TRIED to access/transfer anything from my Master Drive.

I googled the issue and got a couple of suggestions:

1. Reassign a Drive Letter-which I did and it did not work.

2. Ensure that the BIOS Settings on the drive were the same as when I first built the computer. I switched them back and forth for both my new Master Drive and my Slave Drive and nothing.



As I said in the title, I really am pretty clueless when it comes to this stuff. So any help here would be HOT.




-Xander
__________________

A7Xthebest is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 05:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Hard Drive issues-Newer to this.

Click on Start, in the search, type "Computer Management" with out quotes, open that program. Now click on Disk Management. What does it show for your 1TB drive? Does it say RAW?

Also, what errors do you get when trying to access your "slave" drive?
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 08:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hard Drive issues-Newer to this.

Layout: Simple Type: Basic File System: NTFS
Status: Healthy, Primary Partition.

I do not get an error at all. I simply open the drive from my Computer and it says "This Folder is empty."
A7Xthebest is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 02:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,079
Default Re: Hard Drive issues-Newer to this.

was the old slave drive connected when you installed your windows 7 ultimate and did you format any drives when you did the install?
Joe C is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 02:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hard Drive issues-Newer to this.

It WAS connected but I did NOT format any drives...is there a way to make sure it wasn't done for me?
A7Xthebest is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 04:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Hard Drive issues-Newer to this.

Well... It was formatted somewhere... If it's not showing as RAW, and shows nothing there...

When you right click on it, does it say that there is any space being used?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 06:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,079
Default Re: Hard Drive issues-Newer to this.

You can try a program like Recuva and see if there's anything there that can be recovered.
Recuva - Undelete, Unerase, File and Disk Recovery - Free Download
Joe C is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 08:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: Hard Drive issues-Newer to this.

Okay, I see this issue is pretty much closed but I am a bit confused.

I'm just throwing a pic in in case I am missing anything.

And as a side question: My OLD Master Drive was not connected to my computer when I was booting the new version of Win. Yet I cannot access the files from that drive either. I am 100% sure I did not format that drive!


This is my slave drive:
A7Xthebest is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 01:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,079
Default Re: Hard Drive issues-Newer to this.

These are pata/IDE drives?
if they are, you'll need to change the jumpers and set the slave in the middle of the data cable
Joe C is offline  
Old 02-15-2012, 03:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Hard Drive issues-Newer to this.

right click on your hard drive, click properties, go to the security tab, click edit under the users/groups window.
now add EVERYONE as an user.
click apply and ok - repeat as necessary.
now in the security tab, make sure EVERYONE has full control.
now you should be able to access the hard drive.

PS, your image does not work.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive problems - boot issues, waking issues NightJack Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-27-2011 09:53 PM
Hard Drive Issues limewire System Upgrades 2 07-10-2010 08:59 PM
hard drive and dvd+rw drive issues - need help heyjude85023 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 01-04-2006 08:42 AM
Hard drive issues V-tek Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-20-2005 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.