hard drive issues???...need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2005, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Mospinach
Default hard drive issues???...need help

Howdy all

I have a WD800AB 5400 rpm 80 GB hard drive. a few months ago, I was opening the case and accidentally tore a few of the wires on the IDE cable connecting the hard drive to my motherboard (model A7NBX-LA I believe). I was stupid and tried to turn the machine on anyway to see if it would still work...bad idea I guess. I can't recall exactly what happened, but I turned the machine off and basically disassembled the whole thing and left it sitting around until 2 days ago. I don't know if this occurrence is relevant to my present situation, though a few more-computer-savy-than-me friends of mine told me it shouldn't.

Fast forward to the present. Yesterday I purchased a Xion II tower (came with a 450 pow. supply), new IDE cables for both the hard drive and my 2 ROM drives (single drive cable for the hd and dual drive cable for the ROM drives), and a new 128 mb graphics card. I put everything in place, hooked up everything to the motherboard, and so forth, turned the machine on, and unhappy times for me.

It's originally an HP computer, and when it first turns on, the first main thing that appears is a completely blue screen with the HP company logo in white....it only gets that far now and goes no further. It freezes at that point, I can't even get into BIOS or system recovery, even if I'm hitting the F1 or F10 buttons as it's booting up. I tried all kinds of things: I switched the IDE cables, putting the dual drive one on the hard drive alone as a test, trying to boot with the windows XP Home upgrade CD, switching the IDE cable slots on the mother board, and praying.

I already confirmed that it wasn't the graphics card, cuz I can take that out completely and still get the "blue screen of death", which also happened with any sort of IDE cable combination, so I doubt it's the new cables either. Does anybody have suggestions or outright beliefs of what the problem is and what to do? I don't want to just resign to it being the hard drive and having to buy a new one, especially if there's something I can do about it. Lemme know if I need to divulge more info or if y'all got questions. Thanks all.

Mospinach is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 11:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

Keep in mind that you can get into BIOS with very minimal hardware. Try disconnecting all of your IDE drives. If there is something really wrong with a drive, it might not let you get into BIOS.

I would start with that. Other things might be causing your bootup woes, but try that first.


Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 01:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 34

yeh soundslike there is an issue with your hardrive maby use a friends spare ardrive an se what happens
[SC]Hawk is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 09:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

go with elbatrop's suggestion first. and if that fails, without the new video card again as well.
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 06:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Mospinach

Ok....here's what I did. I disconnected all of my IDE cables, even took away the power from the hard drive. So my hard drive AND my ROM drives are not plugged into the motherboard at all. And of course the same thing happened, HP logo screen freezes. I took it to the MicroCenter near my house and some nerdy lookin' guy probably in his 50's told me he could run a diagnostic test....FOR 85 FRIGGIN' BUCKS...so I bounced outta there, but not before asking some questions. He said I should try to hit the Esc button while the thing is first turned on, cuz supposedly I could then see what the computer is actually doing rather than the HP logo screen. I guess that meant I could see the computer working as it tests for the monitor, keyboard, hd, etc. Of course, that didn't work at all, it still went to the HP logo screen. I guess all I got left to consider as an option now is the mobo. What do you all think of these recent revelations?
Mospinach is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 07:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Law's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200

Can you unplug and take everything out: harddrive, CD drive, floppy drive, sound card, NIC card any expansion card (except the video card of course) and try again and tell me the result please.
Law is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 01:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

sound like your short someting in your mobo with you cut those wire. you aren't from columbus ohio are you? that sound like the guy from one of our microcenters ( I think that are only about 10 of them around)
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 03:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769

have u tryed resetting the cmos?

take out the little battery for 5-10 minutes then put it back in(the computer must be unplugged from the power, not turned off at the back UNPLUGED!)

Sprooty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.