Hard Drive Going Down - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2007, 06:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default Hard Drive Going Down

Well it turns out that after all the testing I've done, my hard drive is failing tests. I also ran a memory test and my memory seems fine. Do radical freeze ups sound like a hard drive failing?

Well anyways the biggest question I have is...What can I do to transfer all my stuff on my hard drive while it still works onto another new hard drive? With the older IDE hard drive I could link them together and just transfer my files from one to another. But with the sata hard drives I dont know what to do.
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Just plug them both in and then transfer files.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 07:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Get a new SATA drive and hook up the old IDE in the secondary IDE channel. Once windows is installed on the new drive then simpply drag folder to the new drive and then use the old IDE drive as a frisbee.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Hard drive maker sites like http://www.maxtor.com offer free tools that will copy your old drive to a new drive (even if its not maxtor brand). Some sites will even offer .iso to make your own boot cd to use the application.
poorman is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 11:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 376
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
Get a new SATA drive and hook up the old IDE in the secondary IDE channel. Once windows is installed on the new drive then simpply drag folder to the new drive and then use the old IDE drive as a frisbee.
I don't have a IDE hard drive. It's a sata. And the new one will be a sata also.

Is there a way to transfer my whole hard drive to the new one? I mean including windows and everything. I don't have a windows any more and would like to avoid having to buy a new windows.
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 11:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by poorman
Hard drive maker sites like http://www.maxtor.com offer free tools that will copy your old drive to a new drive (even if its not maxtor brand). Some sites will even offer .iso to make your own boot cd to use the application.
good software on that site especially the diagnostic tool, thats IF ur using a maxtor :bald:
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 03:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sylwek
good software on that site especially the diagnostic tool, thats IF ur using a maxtor :bald:
And technically maxtor doesnt exist anymore. They were bought out.
zep867 is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 12:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zep867
And technically maxtor doesnt exist anymore. They were bought out.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...o.x=16&Go.y=30
http://www.canadacomputers.com/index...all&mfg=MAXTOR
http://liata.com/scrMain2.asp?produc...id=9&brand=660
http://liata.com/scrMain2.asp?produc..._id=9&brand=98

Dont know wat ur smokin but every computer store i go into i always see Maxtors?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 01:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

You can ghost the hard drive if you want. Google "Symantec Ghost".
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 01:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Default


They're still sold, but the company was bought out by Seagate.
__________________

zep867 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.