Hard Drive Failure? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2006, 04:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

The RAM errors may be caused by overclocking/wrong voltage. If not, then it is probably broken.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-18-2006, 05:13 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

well it does sound bad, but you dont need to resort to that just yet....

there is also the possibilty of your Dimm Slot on your Motherboard at Fault, and NOT the RAM..... This is very easy to test though....

1) if there is more then 1 Ram Stick in the computer, Remove them Both... Put only 1 Back in.. and Run Memtest Again.

2) If you no longer get an error or any problems, Switch the Ram stick with the Other one and Test again. (only 1 Ram Stick my be Bad.)

3) If you encounter Errors with the 1st Ram stick, or with Both... Put the Ram a Different Slot(1 at a time), and Try Memtest again.. If it Doesnt Error Repeat Step(2).... If it doesnt error with Both Ram sticks 1 at a time, that means its the Dimm Slot on the motherboard at fault.... If a Setain Ram stick always Errors though, that Ram stick is Faulty.
---------------------------------------------

Software/viruss, cannot damage Ram.... Time cannot damage Ram, Ram can run Infinatly.

only External physical factors can damage ram, exampls:
) a defect from the manufacterer.
) careless/misshandling by a person(static electricity)
) pyscial damage (hitting/dropping impact)
) electric surge (lighting storm black out)
) and also, if BIOS permits... if a user manualy Sets the wrong Voltage setting for the ram.(does not affect anyone who doesnt manualy change the option.
----------------------------

EDIT: i had my window left open b4 Major posted, so i didn see it...

but yeah, what he said can be the cause too... If you did change any of those settings though, you can easily set them back to default by: going into BIOS, and (Load Optimized Defaults), or physicaly Resetting the CMOS jumper on the MOtherboard.... Either way does the same thing.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 10-18-2006, 05:40 AM   #13 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Optimized Defaults is not the same as Default settings afaik.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-18-2006, 05:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheMajor
Optimized Defaults is not the same as Default settings afaik.
what does (afaik) stand for?

and in my experience on my own computers.... Resetting CMOS, and Loading Optimized Defaults, did the same thing.
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-18-2006, 09:13 AM   #15 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

As Far As I Know

My computer BIOS has an option to load Defaults, and to load Optimized Defaults, so I think it's not the same thing.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.