Hard Drive - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2013, 07:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: Hard Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
low voltages can damage parts, your voltages can drop when you use several things on one hub.
I had never heard of this happening to hard drives before. So it sounds as though it would be safer putting my HDD inside my PC...?
Would I be advised to scrap my caddie as a matter of data security (on the thinking that it might be damaged) , even if I get a powered hub?
__________________

BoredCollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 11:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Hard Drive

a powered hub would be much better than what your currently using now. Why not get a USB pci/pci-e card?
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:21 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: Hard Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
a powered hub would be much better than what your currently using now. Why not get a USB pci/pci-e card?
IS that a thing that has lots of ports on it, coming out of the back of the computer? This would give me an issue of having too many wires coming through my door.
BoredCollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:38 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Hard Drive

A door????
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Hard Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
A door????
I think he meant like "underneath" the door, or something.
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 01:59 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Hard Drive

I have no idea why there would be a door on the back of his pc
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 02:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Hard Drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoredCollie
because my computer has to be in the other room, and I can't really have any ore cables coming from my computer through the door..
Door to another room :P
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:19 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: Hard Drive

In the 20th century there was this thing that opened and closed. Often it was wooden. Wood came from trees. Trees had this wonderful property-- oh.... I shan't go on. Anyhow, when I say door, I don't mean 'portal;' 'stargate' or some such.
BoredCollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 06:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Hard Drive

So you have a door between the back of your pc and your area where you have your monitor, mouse and keyboard?

amazing
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 08:02 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Default Re: Hard Drive

I have connected up my new HDD -- the same make and model as the one that apparently failed. I put it in my desktop as a second drive, worried that my caddy is chewing up my external HDDs.

Unfortunately this, too, got the same rejection: a panel saying it needed formatting -- even though I had already formatted it. Looking through the formatting options, I see that things have changed. Now you need to create a partition; Windows (I'm on XP, by the way) needs an allocation unit size and a file system on your new storage device. In the end, after much struggling with trying to overcome the problem of putting all my data on a mere 39.5 GB partition, I found out I would have to go for the 'Extended Partition' option.

So are all my problems of HDD apparent unreadablilty down to nothing more than some Windows update, do you reckon? (The explanation that it was down to my root hub being at low voltage doesn't seem to tally, as my caddy always had its own power supply, even if the connection was irritatingly loose.) What say ye? [It's been an expensive business...:-(.]

With many thanks in advance.
__________________

BoredCollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.