hard disk problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2006, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default hard disk problem

hi all.... i'm having problems wid my hard drive...... it doesnt boot up the computer and is not detected on the boot up or BIOS as well...... i got it checked n they say it has a problem with its "card" and the card has to be changed (which is not avaliable in the area right now).... i have VERY imp data in the drive..... is there neway to get it back working without lossing data...... and is there ne 'card' in hard drive and can getting it changed make the drive work?????? thanx
__________________

saim is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 06:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Default

well I am not sure what you mean by "card" but there are a few programs out there that can restore data on you hard drive. just search google for hard drive restoration and it should come up with something.

As far as the computer not detecting it, is everything plugged in (e.g. IDE/SATA cable, power)?
__________________

wirercx is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 07:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default

thnx for the reply man but, 'card', thts wht i dont understand as well.......... cables are plugged in perfectly and all r checked on other computer where the worked well....... i think it has an electronic problem which cant be solved by any backup or restoration software so plz someone help me
saim is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 07:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

They are talking about the board that can be removed from a drive, But it isn't done very often. Have you tryed setting the jumpers to slave and hooking it to another PC and see if it will be recognized and if so transfer the data that way.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 02:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

um usu u can fix that by messin wit diff jumper combos, but if taht dont work, ya then new card. but yea peeps hes talkin about the hdd's circut board, and prob wat hapen is he had a power surge(either internal or external) and it got the main chip, or it coulda been just old and somethin came loose or just burnt out cause of age. but also good luck on the card if ur goona get a new one cause if its one of those ones where u cant take it off seperatelu from the arms, chanses are their gonna have to open it or just say here u go, good luck!
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.