Hang and Crash Curse - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2013, 05:09 PM   #21 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

Quote:
Originally Posted by VaMoose View Post
Well I have doen near a hundred virus scans on my pc (over time), and it says I don't have one threat. But when the OS was on the 500GB, it crashed, formatted many times, it just did the same. Formatted it, and loaded my 2TB, and now it does the same thing? Even though there is not even one program using the 500GB, could it still rash my pc?
There doesn't specifically have to be a program using it in the foreground.

A background service (such as defrag or indexing) could be accessing it and still having issues.

I would scan your drive(s) with the manufacturer tools (e.g. SeaTools for SeaGate and Data Lifeguard for WD drives) to see if SMART is alright as well as if there any other other diagnostic issues it can find.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 04:19 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

I have disconnected the 500GB hdd, and running it the whole day to see if it hangs again, next step my IT teacher told me is the RAM as I have 4GB corsair and 4GB Kingston in the same pc.
__________________

VaMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 06:13 AM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

Quote:
Originally Posted by VaMoose View Post
I have disconnected the 500GB hdd, and running it the whole day to see if it hangs again, next step my IT teacher told me is the RAM as I have 4GB corsair and 4GB Kingston in the same pc.
Hmm, remove the kingston first and try the corsair ram.
Use your bioses memory utiility check and see if it passes on all test.
If that one works, try the kingston, if that one errors out please report back here.
I'll have some direct contact information if either brand has failed.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 06:16 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

How do I do the Boise utility memory check?
VaMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:49 AM   #25 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

Quote:
Originally Posted by VaMoose View Post
How do I do the Boise utility memory check?
Use Memtest86+.
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 02:13 PM   #26 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yevrag35 View Post
Use Memtest86+.
+1 to Memtest86+.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 08:59 AM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

So I disconnected the 500GB hdd, did mem test before, and all said it was fine. I ran the PC for 24 hours after I disconnected the 500GB hdd, it was fine, and then hanged again this morning. So I have taken the king ax (not Kingston, as I thought it was) 4GB RAM out, and it is running now, so we will see. If it hangs again, I am going to put in the kingmax ram, if it hangs then, I will try another psu my IT teacher leant me. Will keep you guys updated. Thanks for all the help, really appreciate it
VaMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 09:16 AM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

It was running for around 2 hours and it crashed using the corsair memory. Now I am using the kingmax, we will see what happens
VaMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 10:29 AM   #29 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

I would suggest that if your memory is bad, next time get a matched kit of the same type/company... (2x4gb, 2x8gb) this way they are matched to work together and have less problems and work in double or triple channel more efficiently. Plus it will also rule out the possibility of ram compatibility issues.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 03:59 AM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Murphyslaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago, il
Posts: 101
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

Where are you keeping this computer? Is it in a very well ventilated area (under 30c)
__________________

Murphyslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crash, crashing, hang, hanging, help please

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.