Hang and Crash Curse - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2013, 04:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

Notepad ++, iTunes, photoshop, dream weaver, eclipse, fl studio, steam, xfire, cod 4, cod mw 2,3 , black ops 1,2, vlc player, BitTorrent, chrome, Firefox, thunderbird, xampp, daemon tools, quick time player, handy cd ripper, cubase 5 (only in windows 8), miniclip games (bubble trouble), think that's it. But the exact same versions (same installers) were used on my laptop (windows 7), and they worked fine, not crashing once, not hanging, all was good. So I don't see why it would be worse on a pc that has better specs.
__________________

VaMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 04:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

I went into CMD and did a chkdsk, it said it found errors, so I went to my hdd (in my computer folder) clicked on properties, tools, and it scanned and repaired the drive. Then I did a chkdsk again and it came up clean. Would that really be the issue? As I have had many times that my pc turns on and it says scanning and repairing drive, and I get "unexpected shutdown" prompt box sometimes?
__________________

VaMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 04:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

Quote:
Originally Posted by VaMoose View Post
I went into CMD and did a chkdsk, it said it found errors, so I went to my hdd (in my computer folder) clicked on properties, tools, and it scanned and repaired the drive. Then I did a chkdsk again and it came up clean. Would that really be the issue? As I have had many times that my pc turns on and it says scanning and repairing drive, and I get "unexpected shutdown" prompt box sometimes?
In a command prompt, type sfc /scannow
and let it go through its process.

Do you get a message that it found errors but it can't fix them?
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 01:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

I did the sic /scan now, gave me this:
"Windows resource protection found corrupt files and successfully repaired them. Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example C:\windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. Note that logins is currently not supported in offline servicing scenarios" when I try to open the file, it gives me an access denied error. My pc is offline, as I don't have Internet, I am using my ipad to connect to this forum. I ran this earlier and my pc crashed (may have had something to do with me plugging in a second screen?
VaMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 02:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

To be completely sure, I would take that drive completely out. If you don't really use it, there is no need for it right now... If you system behaves the way it should then , low and behold, that would be the issue. A bad hard drive CAN be a single, solitary issue with a machine. So I hope that it does fix your problem. Good luck!

I also would not use it again, IMHO, as a bad or going bad drive can get worse, and possibly die just when you need it most.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

But can that one drive 'infect' the other?
VaMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

As long as it's not a virus, then no... a bad sector or something mechanical in nature will not migrate to another HDD.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

Well I have doen near a hundred virus scans on my pc (over time), and it says I don't have one threat. But when the OS was on the 500GB, it crashed, formatted many times, it just did the same. Formatted it, and loaded my 2TB, and now it does the same thing? Even though there is not even one program using the 500GB, could it still rash my pc?
VaMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 04:59 PM   #19 (permalink)
Pushing Daisies on Saturn
 
Yevrag35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wisconsin, US
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

Quote:
Originally Posted by VaMoose View Post
Well I have doen near a hundred virus scans on my pc (over time), and it says I don't have one threat. But when the OS was on the 500GB, it crashed, formatted many times, it just did the same. Formatted it, and loaded my 2TB, and now it does the same thing? Even though there is not even one program using the 500GB, could it still rash my pc?
A bad sector on the faulty hard drive, when accessed, can cause your computer to crash. Not "virally" infected. Not even infected.

When your computer's doing a million things at once, and then "trips" over a bad sector in a hard drive, crashes can result.
__________________


Yevrag35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 05:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Default Re: Hang and Crash Curse

I have done chkdsk and sic /scan now, but it said no bad sectors? Can there still be one? How can I find it?
__________________

VaMoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crash, crashing, hang, hanging, help please

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.