Half-memory only being detected...but.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2007, 05:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Default Half-memory only being detected...but....

...every single stick only is detected as having half of each capacity - all double-sided sticks - so if you stick in a 1GB stick as I did you'll get 512MB and a 512MB stick gets 256MB and so forth.

This board (Gigabyte i848p) has three slots and each one shows only half the memory so it's not confined to just the one. Now I know the memory isn't faulty (brand-new from MSY) if any of you know that place. Proof comes directly from CPU-Z but Windows and the BIOS just don't know it's there. I edited the second screenshot for obvious reasons...





Any ideas why? Is it worth returning the 1GB stick and getting a single-side stick?
__________________

drewhiggins is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 05:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: Half-memory only being detected...but....

I had a look at your motherboard specs and it did not say your motherboard uses ddr-Sdram it just said ddr . It may just be the problem .. Other then that i would load optimized defaults in the bios and make sure the ram is running at the voltage it should be running on if it isnt change it . Also maybe try updating your bios
__________________

__________________
Cpu:Q6600 GO @ 3.4ghz 1.36V
Gfx:8800 Gts 640Mbs
HD:500 gb SATA2 16mb
OS:Windows Xp 32Bit
Ram:2gb ddr2 Corsair
Monitor:ViewSonic Vg2030wm 20inch Wide Screen
MotherBoard:Abit Ip35 Pro !! - AWESOME
Fan:Zalman 9700
kurtowns is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 05:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Default Re: Half-memory only being detected...but....

DDR400 it has been using fine for the time being.

I've tried loading optimized defaults and no go - the voltages are correct too. Is it worth updating the BIOS maybe?
drewhiggins is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 05:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: Half-memory only being detected...but....

Go into The bios and Check how many mb's is reconized
__________________
Cpu:Q6600 GO @ 3.4ghz 1.36V
Gfx:8800 Gts 640Mbs
HD:500 gb SATA2 16mb
OS:Windows Xp 32Bit
Ram:2gb ddr2 Corsair
Monitor:ViewSonic Vg2030wm 20inch Wide Screen
MotherBoard:Abit Ip35 Pro !! - AWESOME
Fan:Zalman 9700
kurtowns is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 05:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Default Re: Half-memory only being detected...but....

512mb
drewhiggins is offline  
Old 12-07-2007, 05:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kurtowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia,Nsw
Posts: 129
Default Re: Half-memory only being detected...but....

Ive Got a feeling its to do with your Ram not being compatible if i was picking ram for that board i would of just got normal ddr ram not SD and not double sided , Anyway see what every one else thinks
__________________
Cpu:Q6600 GO @ 3.4ghz 1.36V
Gfx:8800 Gts 640Mbs
HD:500 gb SATA2 16mb
OS:Windows Xp 32Bit
Ram:2gb ddr2 Corsair
Monitor:ViewSonic Vg2030wm 20inch Wide Screen
MotherBoard:Abit Ip35 Pro !! - AWESOME
Fan:Zalman 9700
kurtowns is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 06:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 6
Default Re: Half-memory only being detected...but....

But it was working fine before. 512MB sticks were recognised as 512MB, 256MB sticks recognised at 256MB. I had no issues with it - the memory was always recognised. It just suddenly started seeing only half of every single stick. Would flashing the BIOS help maybe, it could have corrupted - but how I don't know.

Maybe I'll try single-sided RAM or get a new board.
__________________

drewhiggins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Will a comp pass POST with half bad memory? 706 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-04-2007 11:08 AM
Problems with Memory affecting SATA drive? DJUDX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-30-2007 06:33 PM
Bad Memory Captain Murphy Overclocking and Modding 2 11-06-2007 09:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.