GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2010, 02:19 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

PSU isn't the issue... I am honestly stumped....

Curious, any of your other games experience a hit from this update?
Try reading this thread from the Blizzard forums.

Very frustating FPS - Forums - StarCraft II
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 03:16 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
PSU isn't the issue... I am honestly stumped....
Ok, I messed with a bunch of things, from uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers, to reinstalling directx, cleaning out my registry, and a couple other minor things. Not sure what did it, but it's working better now. There's still some bad lag for the first several seconds after it loads something up, but after about 3-10seconds max, it runs smooth. This seems normal as from what I've read, this game does use more CPU and RAM when turning up graphics settings. Considering I only have 2gigs of ram currently, that's probably why I have the lag in the beginning. Once it gets going though, I have no problems running it on ultra settings.

So yea, not sure which of those things solved the problem but seems ok now. Hopefully when I get win 7 on my comp and get 2 more gigs of ram, it'll fix that initial lag.

One last question... I do have each of the PCI-E power connections hooked up to the two seperate rails now. Though I don't believe that is what fixed the issue, is there any way I can tell which rail the PCI-E power plug is connected to? I'd like to free up those 2 extra molex plugs, but want to make sure I have the GPU hooked up right to be giving it enough power.
__________________

Ascendant is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 07:00 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

The only way to tell, is to ask the manufacture, or take the PSU apart and see -.-

Lag at the start of missions/matchs seems normal for me, I also have 2GB of ram, and I am running a 3850 as my GPU, and can play on high just fine.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 11:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

It could be the psu still, as its tops 80% efficent, it could be running in the upper ends down side, thus killing his actual output.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 11:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
The only way to tell, is to ask the manufacture, or take the PSU apart and see -.-

Lag at the start of missions/matchs seems normal for me, I also have 2GB of ram, and I am running a 3850 as my GPU, and can play on high just fine.
Well in response to both the above quote and patonb, as far as the PSU, I did try hooking it back up the way I had it and sure enough, that was the problem. I was running both off the same rail. The reason I didn't notice it when I first changed them is because regardless, there is still a bit of lag at the start of the missions, so at first I thought I hadn't solved the problem and tried those other things. However, now with the GPU connected to both rails, like I had said previously that lag goes away after 3-10seconds.

As far as that lag though, I would suggest upgrading to 4gigs. From what I've read in forums in regards to SC 2, to run in ultra mode it needs 4gigs. Hopefully in time they'll improve the efficiency of the game and make it so that turning up graphics settings will only affect your GPU. Regardless, can't hurt to have a little extra RAM .

Anyway, thanks a lot for helping out corrosive, I really appreciate it. I'm actually a moderator on forums to do with fitness and working out, so I try to do my share as well, but when it comes to computers and situations like this, I definitely have more questions than answers, lol.
Ascendant is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 06:26 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

So in the end, it is the PSU, that is kinda why a lot of techs try to stay away from multi-rail power supplies, as a lot of them, aren't efficient, or, they just don't tell ya what dongles are on what rail.

If you ever get a chance to upgrade the PSU, try to find one that has a HIGH single 12v rail, they do exist.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-03-2010, 12:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
So in the end, it is the PSU, that is kinda why a lot of techs try to stay away from multi-rail power supplies, as a lot of them, aren't efficient, or, they just don't tell ya what dongles are on what rail.

If you ever get a chance to upgrade the PSU, try to find one that has a HIGH single 12v rail, they do exist.

Any quality psu with multi-rails won't be an issue. A hx series from corsair would run just fine. The biggest issue is his psu is just good enough to power it, and so hes gettikng issues.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 12:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

A good QUALITY one yes, but, not everyone can afford one of those. :-p
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-04-2010, 04:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

Download and run GPU-Z, then post a screenshot of the Graphics Card Tab and the Sensors Tab. This will tell us about the Card itself unlike HWMonitor which is telling us about the System as a whole.

GPU-Z Video card GPU Information Utility

__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking GeForce 9500GT Night Fox Overclocking and Modding 26 12-21-2009 08:59 PM
9500GT scrimstar New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-16-2009 01:10 AM
New AGP card for lower-end system? SeanoCastellin New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-20-2008 02:12 AM
Lower Video Card noise by reducing the fan speed Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-01-2008 12:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.