GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2010, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

Just got my new gtx 460, went to play Starcraft II, and the frames on it are worse than when I was using my old 9500 GT. Nothing else has changed in my comp, so I'm at a loss. I completely deleted all old drivers, installed all new drivers, got the latest version at nvidia, installed physx, etc. Below is my system specs:

motherboard - ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO AM3 AMD 785G HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
cpu - AMD Athlon II X2 250 Regor 3.0GHz Socket AM3 65W Dual-Core
ram - Crucial 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600)
video card - EVGA 01G-P3-1371-AR GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16
hard drive - Western Digital Caviar RE 160GB Sata 3gb
psu - XCLIO Goodpower 500w
sound card - Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
OS - Windows XP

When I talked to a rep from EVGA, he told me to check my ram settings, which I did and they all seem fine. He said it might be issues with running a 460 on a win xp OS, but I know of plenty of other people who have done it without issues, though from what he explained you can't run higher than directx 9 on windows xp? Other than that, the only other thing he mentioned is that my processor might be holding me back, but not sure about that because even on cinematics, it gets a bit choppy here and there.

I'm at a complete loss here as to what I can try to fix this? I mean at this point I'm so disappointed I'm tempted to just open an RMA and return this new video card. If anyone has any suggestions from personal experience, I'd really appreciate it.
__________________

Ascendant is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 08:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

Make sure all of your power cords are properly connected to the card.
__________________

__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

XP is the lowest System Requirements of SC2. But I do not think you can play at full settings. Try to tone it down.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
XP is the lowest System Requirements of SC2. But I do not think you can play at full settings. Try to tone it down.
so then this very well could be the operating system?
Ascendant is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

Highly unlikely it is the OS, it's just the oldest OS that you are capable of installing SC2 to.

It is possible your PSU is struggling to power the GPU, thus, resulting in lower frames.

Oh, and the cinematic, is ALL cpu powered, the GPU, does almost no processing in that area according to a few Blizzard reps at the SC2 forum, so, sadly, it IS possible your CPU can't keep up, though, my AMD Athlon 6000+ handles the game just fine...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 10:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Highly unlikely it is the OS, it's just the oldest OS that you are capable of installing SC2 to.

It is possible your PSU is struggling to power the GPU, thus, resulting in lower frames.

Oh, and the cinematic, is ALL cpu powered, the GPU, does almost no processing in that area according to a few Blizzard reps at the SC2 forum, so, sadly, it IS possible your CPU can't keep up, though, my AMD Athlon 6000+ handles the game just fine...
thanks for the info. that would explain why the cinematic frames haven't changed at all.

as far as the game itself and what you said in regards to the PSU, from what i understand, if the graphics card isn't getting enough juice, it will make a very loud buzzing sound, so i don't think that's it either. i've seen other people use the same PSU in other forum threads with similar setups as well. i dont know, i mean i could try picking a new PSU up at best buy and try it. i mean if it doesnt help i can return it anyway. just gonna be a pain hooking up a new PSU if its not the problem.
Ascendant is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 10:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

There won't always be a buzzing sound. Curious, can you download HWMonitor from CPUID.com and get us a screen shot of the temps? Start the program before SC2, run the game for awhile, then exit, grab a screen shot, upload, and give us a link to it, that way we can just rule out overheating, and any possible voltage issues.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-01-2010, 11:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
There won't always be a buzzing sound. Curious, can you download HWMonitor from CPUID.com and get us a screen shot of the temps? Start the program before SC2, run the game for awhile, then exit, grab a screen shot, upload, and give us a link to it, that way we can just rule out overheating, and any possible voltage issues.


There ya go. Getting a copy of Win 7 tomorrow, so I'll be able to rule that issue out. I don't see it as an overheating issue considering as soon as I installed the video card, I uninstalled the old drivers, installed the new drivers for the 460, and immediately tried out SC II and right off the bat the FPS was a problem. Dunno, maybe the PSU is a problem. No way I can test out the PSU though eh?
Ascendant is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 12:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: GTX 460 card has lower FPS than my old 9500GT. help please?

Yea there is, leave HWMonitor running while playing sc for a bit then post the screenshot, I said it in that manor so I could also see the voltages it reports on your 12V rail, as it records lowest/highest, even while playing something graphics intensive. :-p
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-02-2010, 01:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Yea there is, leave HWMonitor running while playing sc for a bit then post the screenshot, I said it in that manor so I could also see the voltages it reports on your 12V rail, as it records lowest/highest, even while playing something graphics intensive. :-p
ok, spent time playing SC 2 with it, and this is what i got:

http://i231.photobucket.com/albums/e...010-012418.jpg

regardless of my video settings, the game seems to run really low on frames at some points.

another thing, my PSU has two rails, each of which has 17amps on them. the graphics card says it only requires a 450w power supply, but that it needs 24amps on the 12volt rail. Now I figure if I run each power connection to the GPU to the two seperate rails, it should be fine. It has one PCI-E connection coming straight from the PSU, then the other connection I have through the molex adapter (2 molex to the PCI-E adapter). Wondering if I might want to run both off the seperate molex lines coming out the computer to make sure they're on seperate rails? what you guys think, cause i'm not sure which rail the PCI-E would be connected to?

well, just tried changing the connections so that each PCI-E connection was run through molex adapters on each seperate rail and no difference. so unless i'm doing something wrong here, it seems like my PSU isn't the issue.
__________________

Ascendant is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overclocking GeForce 9500GT Night Fox Overclocking and Modding 26 12-21-2009 08:59 PM
9500GT scrimstar New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-16-2009 01:10 AM
New AGP card for lower-end system? SeanoCastellin New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-20-2008 02:12 AM
Lower Video Card noise by reducing the fan speed Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-01-2008 12:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.