Grr..stupid microsoft - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2006, 11:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Grr..stupid microsoft

So I installed SP2, and come to find out the drivers for my video card that I downloaded never installed, because Microsoft found it neccasary to install them. I don't want shatty microsoft drivers, I want my Omega drivers. How do I get rid of the microsoft ones? If I install the Omega ones..the Microsoft ones remain. I tried right-clicking and selecting "uninstall" from device manager, but once I restart Microsoft just automatically installs them again.

Anyone?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you can't remove the standard Windows drivers. just install the omega drivers, and it won't use the microsoft ones.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Under device manager is still says the Microsoft ones are active. I've never had this problem before. :S

So if I install the Omega drivers, it will use those even though it says it's using Microsoft ones?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 03:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Yes it should install the omega's with no problems but if you do want to uninstall the microsoft ones then remove them in device manager and restart in vga mode and close the wizard when it opens. Then just install normally.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 08:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

There is no wizard, it just automatically installs them.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 08:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude
restart in vga mode
Did you restart in VGA mode!!!
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 09:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I dunno what that is..but I clicked "re-install omega drivers" and they worked this time.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.