Grounds for an RMA of my video card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2008, 07:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Grounds for an RMA of my video card?

One of my gpu cores of my 7950 gx2 fails to start and is being detected as a 7900 gtx, making my 3dmark06 score drop from my original 8k to around 4k, yes i have tried multiple video drivers ranging from my original cd ones, to the latest, even tried xp and vista os's, so im quite sure one of the gpu cores has failed and that its not software based



heres a screenshot:


both should say 7950 gx2
__________________

backup287 is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 08:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Grounds for an RMA of my video card?

Well the only way it would be grounds for a RMA is if the card is within the time period allowed for RMA from the place you bought it. Unless it is EVGA or XFX which have that lifetime guarantee.

If not then good lucky trying to get NewEgg or where ever to take it back.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 08:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: Grounds for an RMA of my video card?

well i got it from a small local business here, but they built my whoel computer custom and ordered the parts seperately, and they let me register my product myself, and yes i have life time warrenty from evga, should i do it myself or contact the small local business and have them deal with it for me?
backup287 is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 08:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Grounds for an RMA of my video card?

If you registered the product you will have to do it.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 08:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: Grounds for an RMA of my video card?

one more quick question, without my video card on, will i be using integrated video? will it just kick in when i start up my computer without a video card?

asus m2n32 sli deluxe, how bad will integrated video be?
backup287 is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 11:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Grounds for an RMA of my video card?

Integratred video will only kick in if you connect the monitor to the output and the device is on in your BIOS. Intergrated can be bad. It depends on how much you have shared and what you do with it. I wouldnn't recommender gaming.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 11:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: Grounds for an RMA of my video card?

hmm, do you know where exactly i hook the moniter up to? i dont see anywhere else to put it besides my video card, i have an asus m2n32 sli deluxe, maybe do u have a picture?
backup287 is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 12:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Grounds for an RMA of my video card?

You can only use Analog.



That connector right near the PS/2 Ports is the VGA connector. That is your onbaord video.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 01:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: Grounds for an RMA of my video card?

thanks mak your a life saver, but what do u mean by analog only? whats analog
(sorry im a noob)


hmm and it seems i will need a converter vga to something converter, no worrys i probly have one of those laying around

just called up tech support for evga, they said i should rma it, what card do you think ill recieve? my 7950 gx2 was discontinued, you think they have another one laying around?
backup287 is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 03:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Grounds for an RMA of my video card?

You will need a VGA to DVI converter.

As fir what you will get. I have no idea. They will most likely send something of equal value.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clicking sound coming from new video card. overclocked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
Need new Video card - Gamer Xevan System Upgrades 24 05-30-2008 06:21 AM
BFME2 Video Card Japes PC Gaming 5 03-03-2008 05:46 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.