Graphics problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2005, 06:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default Graphics problem

Leadtek 6600gt 128mb AGP
1gb 3200 ddr sdram
3300+ AMD Athlon 64

My computer was running games fine until recently. Now when I play World of Warcraft or Battlefield 2 I have problems. In World of Warcraft after about an hour, the terrain will disappear and and game will get really laggy. After I restart the game it works again but only for a certain amount of time before the problem repeats. In Battlefield 2 I have a similar problem. After about an hour too the screen will either go completely black or everything but the gun will go black for a few seconds. Then it will go back to normal but it will do it again after 30 seconds or a minute and eventually crash to the desktop. I also play counter strike which works fine. The graphics card is not overclocked. Could it be a power supply problem? Mine is 350w and I don't have any other cards in the computer. Could the graphics card be overheating? Does anyone know what could be wrong?
__________________

stephen_s is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Most likely, graphics card is starting to overheat.
__________________

WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

I second that.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default

How can I fix it?
stephen_s is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

You can RMA it for a new one, as overheating issues are a sign of a faulty card.

EDIT: or you can purchase a aftermarket heatsink.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default

I bought it off newegg and have had it since march, could I still exchange it? Also what is involved in putting in another heatsink?
stephen_s is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Check how long your warranty lasts and with whome its with. Then contact them and tell them the situation and then follow their directions.

If you decide to go the heatsink route, search around for one and install. I just searched google and this was first, http://www.pcsynapse.com/reviews.php?&verify=29 That describes how that certain model is attached. hope this helps.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 07:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Re-install video drivers. Set graphics card speeds slightly lower. Maybe it will help.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 08:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Default

Thanks for all the help. Apparently, since it has been less than a year I can send it back for a replacement, however, I'm not sure if to do that I need to have the original box and other stuff because I don't. I know that if you want a refund you have to have that stuff but does anyone know for an exchange if I need it?
stephen_s is offline  
Old 12-21-2005, 08:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Uninstall your current Nvidia drivers and cleaan the registry. Install the latest Nvidia drivers and then do what The Major is suggesnting. In the Nvidia panel, manual clock that card down about 25mhz on each side. My 6800gt is 350/1000, so i would set it at 325/975. See what happens. If it is still overheating??? you might want to make sure that your fan is always turned on in the Nvidia panel and that your power supply is in good shape. Swap out the power supply with a friends of equal or better wattage and then run BF2 for awhile and see what happens.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.