Graphics problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2008, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Graphics problem?

Ok I don't know what's wrong exactly. Of course, I don't know what else it would be other than the gfx card. It's a Nvidia 6 series card.
I told my friend I'd take a look at it for him.
I Googled some ideas but couldn't figure out what might be wrong with the card.
So, any ideas?


Pic 1
Pic 2
Pic 3
Pic 4
Pic 5
Pic 6


As always, I really appreciate the help.
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 07:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Graphics problem?

Looks like dying VRAM to me. Either that, or it is massively overheating. Make sure the fans are spinning/not clogged on the card.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Re: Graphics problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
Looks like dying VRAM to me. Either that, or it is massively overheating. Make sure the fans are spinning/not clogged on the card.
That's the only thing I could find from google, maybe the vram.
I cleaned the fan and everything. It does this from boot, so it's gotta be internal.
I'll see what he has in his PC and we'll prolly just upgrade his vid card.
I got 2 gfx cards laying around but they're Radeon's and won't work with his mobo.

If anyone thinks it's not his gfx card or vram post your idea here please.

Thanks!
__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 04:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Graphics problem?

I hope you're not implying that ATI won't work with his motherboard because the motherboard is nVidia.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 11:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Re: Graphics problem?

Well I'm not really sure actually. I have 4 computers a my house right now. 1 is my gaming rig (in my sig), 1 is my parents (8 year old HP with fried HDD [idk what gfx card it has]), 1 is my old PC (Radeon something), and my friends PC (Nvidia Geforce 6 something).
My gaming rig and his 6 Series PC open their cases and the drive bays are on the right and the back of the PC is on my left.
It's the opposite for my parents old PC and my friends PC.
So I tried moving my Radeon, and my parents card, to my friends PC. But to do so I have to flip it upside-down and 180 degrees. And neither seem to fit in any of the slots on my friends mobo.
So I simply assumed it was because they are both Radeons and won't work with his mobo. Please enlighten me if I'm confused...



EDIT: Ok so I did some reading. hehe. From my research I found the two Radeon's I have are AGP, so I assume since they aren't compatible with his mobo he probably has PCI and/or PCIe ports. I'll look up his mobo and see what model it is, after I get back from school.
__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 02:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 15
Default Re: Graphics problem?

i used to have this problem


it happened when i installed coolbits on my 6600

it may have something to do with artifacting from overclocking or overheating


try taking the side of your cpu




and blow out any dust thats in your cpu, an air compresser would do the job

be sure to hold the fans tho


dust = cpu worst enemy
insane0011 is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 09:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default Re: Graphics problem?

Yeah, there was some serious dust. I've begun to clean it but some dust is caked on and I'm debating the best way to remove it all... I'll prolly take it outside and use compressed air...

I'll let you know if that works...
__________________
Intel Q6600 g0 @ 3Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L motherboard
Thermaltake M9 Case
SeaGate 7200.11 750GB hdd
PALiT 9600GT SONIC 512MB 700Mhz video card
CORSAIR 650TX 650W power supply unit
OCZ Reaper 4GB (2x2GB) PC2 6400 Dual Channel RAM
LITE-ON 20X DVD/CD burner
Tuniq Tower 120 Heatsink
Artic Silver 5 thermal past
g3kk0 is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 12:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,667
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Graphics problem?

To clean my stuff I just take out anything REALLY static-sensitive then use a vacuum cleaner (hoover, wa'eva). Honestly, TRY to kill your system using air. You CAN'T. IT DOSEN"T DIE!!11!!1
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 02:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default Re: Graphics problem?

my gforce 5500 did that to me a coulpe of years back, it ended up being the fan on it had stopped working. thus overheating.

it was not worth fixing so i just replaced it.
__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 12-17-2008, 11:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Graphics problem?

looks like a memory problem to me. blow the dust out, that never hurts.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ati graphics card re-install virusxman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-08-2008 10:29 PM
Memory problem? Spug-a-lug Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 09-20-2007 04:59 AM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.