Graphics and Monitor Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2006, 02:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default Graphics and Monitor Problem

Ok I consider myself quite a competent computer user having built many systems and setup networks. However I seem to keep making a mistake that keeps killing my graphics cards or monitors.

I have a few computers that I use, so I every now and then i will move a montior to a different computer. However it has happened twice now that when connecting the monitor to the computer that it has cooked the graphics card even though the monitor was turned off and compouter shut down (i know when this happens because it sparks a bit when i connect). This was with 2 different crt monitors on 2 different computers. Also once I managed to kill my 19inch LCD while doing the same task. I know this probably sounds stupid but it has now got the point where im scared to connect a monitor to a computer in fear of breaking something.

Has anyone any ideas on how to stop this happening or what is causing it. Any help would be much appreciated
__________________

phdownload is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

unplug both the powersupply on the computer and the monitor itself that way it is impossible to fry it. ive never heard of this but that will fix the problem.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, i will be sure to do that in future though im just wondering if it could be a staic build up problem. I thought that having the cables plugged in would ground it and stop it happening but no. Any ideas?
phdownload is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

just make sure all the power drains first after you unplug it make sure the led on the mobo is not lit then plug it in. also you can try grounding yourself by touching the monitor plug then while holding the plug touch a metal part of the fase like the power supply or something.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-01-2006, 03:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks a lot. I will try these things from now on and hope for the best.
phdownload is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.