Graphics Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2009, 12:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 222
Default Graphics Memory

I had about 3GB at the beginning... and now it's only about 500MB. What's going on?

Click the link in my signature to see the original size.
__________________

__________________
Intel i7 965 @ 3.20GHz
Two Nvidia GeFore GTX 280 (1GB Each)
12GB RAM
Dell 2009W 1650x1050
Vista Home Premium & Windows 7
Ulquiorra Schiffer is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 12:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Graphics Memory

Its probably a bad reading... I really wouldn't worry about it..

If you are though, just start a game... and check it out
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 222
Default Re: Graphics Memory

I did a video test stress in Counter-Strike: Source and got a 295 FPS average, so I guess it is a bad reading.
__________________
Intel i7 965 @ 3.20GHz
Two Nvidia GeFore GTX 280 (1GB Each)
12GB RAM
Dell 2009W 1650x1050
Vista Home Premium & Windows 7
Ulquiorra Schiffer is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 12:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Graphics Memory

Counter-Strike isn't very demanding to test that, you have a game that stresses your system any harder?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 01:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 222
Default Re: Graphics Memory

Call of Duty: World at War is the only high graphics game I have right now... other than that, I also have TF2.
__________________
Intel i7 965 @ 3.20GHz
Two Nvidia GeFore GTX 280 (1GB Each)
12GB RAM
Dell 2009W 1650x1050
Vista Home Premium & Windows 7
Ulquiorra Schiffer is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 01:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Graphics Memory

Team Fortress 2 is only demanding at higher resolutions... so that's out, WAW is probably your most demanding game..

Run it @ 1650x1050, All Extra High Settings, AA maxed out, and AF with the bar all the way to the right
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 03:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 222
Default Re: Graphics Memory

Okay, tell me if this is bad for what I have.

Mike - Screenshots

Make sure to click "full size" and then when a new window opens zoom in. Look at the top left corner and you will see the FPS.

By the way, what does AF all the way to the right do? It was originally to the left.
__________________
Intel i7 965 @ 3.20GHz
Two Nvidia GeFore GTX 280 (1GB Each)
12GB RAM
Dell 2009W 1650x1050
Vista Home Premium & Windows 7
Ulquiorra Schiffer is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 04:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Graphics Memory

Seems fine.. WAW doesn't support SLI anyways... and even then, as long as the game runs @ 60 FPS + I wouldn't care anyhow...

Actually, I think 20+ is playable for me on any game.. 10 on Crysis or anything that uses the Crytek Engine
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-05-2009, 04:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Beverly, MA
Posts: 222
Default Re: Graphics Memory

Alright, thanks.
__________________

__________________
Intel i7 965 @ 3.20GHz
Two Nvidia GeFore GTX 280 (1GB Each)
12GB RAM
Dell 2009W 1650x1050
Vista Home Premium & Windows 7
Ulquiorra Schiffer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All VOIP programs (skype, yahoo, msn) cause PC crash (only voice calls, chat ok)??? disksko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 03-17-2009 09:17 AM
New Memory, New Graphics jjung System Upgrades 9 06-19-2008 03:14 PM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
Memory problem? Spug-a-lug Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 09-20-2007 04:59 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.