Graphics Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2006, 07:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 36
Default Graphics Issue

Having a problem with something in my new rig.

AMD Athalon 64 3800+ X2
2gig Corsair RAM
550W Antec PSU
Biostar nforce4 SLI Mobo
EVGA 7800GT PCI express 16x
Xp Pro

It seems while playing Everquest, that after about 30-45minutes of game play, everything runs smoothe. Then my graphics start to go choppy, and skip around a bit. I have played Quake4, which came with my video card, but i do not think it does this. Any help would be needed. I also downloaded the latest drivers from nvidia.
__________________

wchs07 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 07:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 512
Default

Is it overclocked? It might be a overheating problem and did you build it yourself or buy it stock?
__________________

__________________

Life is too important to be taken seriously - Oscar Wilde
Metr01973 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 36
Default

not overclocked, and yes i built it myself
wchs07 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 133
Default

Do you have any problems in your system with any other games, or programs?

Have you tried testing your VGA with a video testing program? Maybe 3Dmark or another program that you can use to hammer your system's video capabilities?

Make sure you have all the latest drivers, patches, and updates for windows and the game of course, but worse case senario try an older version of the VGA drivers.

Also you might check all the processes going on in the background when your game becomes unstable to see if something is conflicting with the game ops.

Just a start, hope this helps. :-?
Blueman is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 36
Default

what are the possibilites of me getting a faulty video card?
wchs07 is offline  
Old 01-14-2006, 04:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 36
Default

http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f3...7/untitled.jpg

any help would be great. 3DMark ran and that was the highest i got...7520 or so. With a 7800GT and a 3800 AMD 64 X2 it seems weak compared to others. Im guessing i have a faulty video card.
wchs07 is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

do you have anything on in the video cards setup? if you are always running 16xAA and 8xAF the obviously the 3dmark will be lower.
joshd is offline  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 36
Default

what do you mean?
__________________

wchs07 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.