graphics card won't show monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2008, 02:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Talking graphics card won't show monitor

Hey everyone i've got a problem you see i was at a freinds house laning it up playin some games when i cam up with the dumb idea of trying to connect the computer to hes T.V screen using the s-video whilst already having two screens already conected via the 2 slots and it then just whent blank the computer was still runing but the monitors was not recieving the signal and after trying a few difernent things to fix it like getting rid of the s-video switching the screens using one screen and using another seperate screen and reseting the mobo it still would not recieve anything so i came here for help.
plzzz helpme or my brothers gonna bash me : ) :freak:
__________________

osborne3 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: graphics card won't show monitor

If by 'reseting the mobo' you mean you reset your BIOS, then I can't think of anything else that might help you. Are you SURE you reset it correctly?
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 06:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: graphics card won't show monitor

hey yeh my reseting the mobo i took out the battery for a few minutes then switched a jumper from 1-2 to 2-3 for a few mutes then rput it back together as it originalie was and BTW my mobo is a ASUs p5ld2 and the graphics card is a 8600gt
osborne3 is offline  
Old 07-22-2008, 06:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: graphics card won't show monitor

is there any display on the monitor/s during boot? if that's the case i'd say the issue lies with the nvidia driver configuration and you should be able to fix it by booting into safe mode (just keep hitting F8 before windows starts booting and it should bring up a menu where you can choose "Safe Mode With Networking"). if not then we're looking at a damaged/unseated graphics card. try removing the card physically and re-seating it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 02:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default Re: graphics card won't show monitor

Yeh my spec is
MOBO-ASUS p5ld2
VIDEOCARD- Nvidia 8600GTzzcpu-zint
CPU-Intel P4
PSU-Thermaltake TR2-470W
And i think it might be the Graphics card is faulty. So if that is the case would u be able to sugest any afordable graphics card that would be able to play WOW and CS which aint askin for much hehe.
osborne3 is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 03:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: graphics card won't show monitor

did you check what i said? as for replacing the graphics card, you could probably RMA it and have it fixed/replaced by the manufacturer.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-23-2008, 04:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
osborne3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Byron,Australia
Posts: 125
Default

Yeh when the comp starts up the monitor just says on it it can't find any signal. And i've tried reseating the graphics card before and it still wouldnt work but ill try again.
And i don't think i can get on warranty cause i have no proof of purchase and my mom chuckes stuff like that away.

I can only think of 3 things that are probably the problem its either the Power supply is faulty or doesnt supply enough power, the motherboard's pci-e is screwed up or the Graphics card is faulty.
__________________

osborne3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New graphics card for £100 Alvin.C New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-19-2008 06:10 PM
Graphics Card for basic dual monitor setup, non-gaming, and linux Brinson System Upgrades 3 02-27-2008 01:50 AM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Buying Graphics card tonight Adam2k7 System Upgrades 17 10-04-2007 09:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.