Graphics card not running at AGP 8x? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2005, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default Graphics card not running at AGP 8x?

I got a new EVGA FX5200 from newegg. Put it in and went to run the Professional Version of 3dmark05 (Wasn't expecting much =D) but I clicked "DETAILS" under system. I was fine with everything untill this,

AGP
Revision 3.0
Rate 4x, 8x (4x enabled)
Available Rate 0x0000000c
Selected Rate 0x00000004
Aperture Size 0 B
Sideband Addressing supported (disabled)
Fast Write supported (disabled)

I'm mostly concered about "Rate 4x, 8x (4x enabled)" which basically means the card is running at 4x right? How can I make it go to 8x?

Also what are Sideband addressing and fastwrite?
__________________

Faint is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 08:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Make sure the correct AGP strobe multiplier is set in BIOS, i.e @ 8x. Are your video card drivers, chipset drivers and BIOS rev. up-to-date? Does your mobo actually support AGP 8x?...
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 08:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

All my drivers are up to date. I couldn't find an option that said "4x or 8x" but I did change it from PCI to AGP/onboard which did nothing. It supports 8x also.

Anyone eles have a thought?
Faint is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

put it in an 8x slot
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 01:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

It is in an AGP x8 slot.
Faint is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 01:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

there shuold be somewhere in your bios about 4x or 8x or 4&8x. look harder
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

4x wont be any slower

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...t=AGP+4x+vs+8x
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 05:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

True, but that's not his problem. There will be a AGP 2x/4x/8x option in system BIOS. If you really can't find it, try flashing your BIOS to a more recent version (if the rev. resolves any issues similar to this that is).
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 06:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Default

My bios are the most recent according to hp.com

also here are my bios options:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...en#bph07110_ad
Bottom
__________________

Faint is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.