graphics card issue... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2009, 06:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default graphics card issue...

well i bought a xfx 9800 gt from tiger direct and istalled it in my computer cause my old died and it worked great for a week or so and then it started to freeze/restart when my computer was turned on when all the startup process's were finish.

i have tried re-installing it with the drivers off the nvidia site and even re-installed windows xp and even went threw and made sure all drivers on everything was updated also and im still having this issue.

i am lost at this point i cant quite figure out what is going on so if there is anyone that has any info that might help please post it would be quite appreciated.
__________________

Roycampbell is offline  
Old 04-09-2009, 09:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: graphics card issue...

make sure that it isn't over heating
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: graphics card issue...

well i checked in the bios to see if any temps were higher than they are suppose to be and they all look normal. i would download a temp moniter but i dont have that computer hooked up to the net yet cause i has still been freezeing/restarting on me.... i just reformated the hard drive when re-installing windows xp and it froze trying to set it up for internet before any updates or anything...
Roycampbell is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 21
Default Re: graphics card issue...

First be certain it is the source of the freeze and reboots. Pull the card and use the onboard IGA for a while. Just run the machine long enough to insure you don't have a software issue (driver, virus, adware, etc). Once you are certain the card is to blame. Tiger Direct should send you a replacement as you said it is only few weeks old.

However if the machine is still acting goofy without the card you will at least know it is not the source of the problem.
EDE Tech is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 09:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: graphics card issue...

and while i was checking temps i left it in the bios and it froze so im wondering if it is something else motherboard, processer or something im not to sure though so if anyone can point me in the right direction i would be very pleased
Roycampbell is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 10:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: graphics card issue...

what psu do you have. Does it have enough power for that card? I believe you need at 450watt from a good quality brand.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 10:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: graphics card issue...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
what psu do you have. Does it have enough power for that card? I believe you need at 450watt from a good quality brand.
what he said, post the PSU specs and manufacturer if you will ^_^
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-10-2009, 10:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: graphics card issue...

well i checked on the psu itself and in the order info for my computer from 5 years ago..


on the side of the psu it say Enermax 460watt

in the order info it says alienware max watt 460..
__________________

Roycampbell is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
graphics card issues LostAcres Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 11-27-2008 09:45 PM
Updating Graphics Card...Advice? Shiinji System Upgrades 10 02-06-2008 03:44 PM
Graphics card problems (?) TommyGun Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-28-2007 09:53 AM
Graphics card issue? superdave1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-16-2007 08:57 AM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.