Graphics card issue? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2007, 10:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Graphics card issue?

OK. Bought a used Dell Optiplex GX 260 for $90. 2.4 Ghz P4, 512 RAM. Pretty decent PC. Swapped the hard drive from my old Dell, it booted right up. Had some driver issues, but nothing major. Anyway, when I go to play some games, the graphics are really bad. The picture is like a million small boxes with a diagonal line in each with half the box black, the other half what is supposed to be there. Is this because of the onboard graphics card? My old Dell played these same games no sweat. Dunno the specs of the card in this one except it says Intel 82845G/GL graphics controller with 48MB memory. Dunno the specs of the other PC either. I am not a hard core gamer so I am not spending a pile of cash on a new card, more likely to buy a $100 one from Wal Mart. They have a Diamond Multimedia Stealth ATI Radeon 9250 for $75.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 03:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 85
Default Re: Graphics card issue?

Dude ya need a fresh install for everything to work properly. Just make sure to backup all your files. As programs don't work because of registry issues, which is a 'captain-obvious' thing to do.
__________________

AT2005 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 11:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Graphics card issue?

Well, I don't think I need a fresh install of Windows because it boots fine and everything works perfectly except a couple games. I have reinstalled the games and video drivers and still get the problem. If it was a HAL issue it wouldn't have booted. I am thinking it is because the card is only a 48MB card.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 12:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Graphics card issue?

What were the video specs on the old DELL?
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 01:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Graphics card issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethereal_Dragon View Post
What were the video specs on the old DELL?
Good question. I will run Aida on both of them when I get home this evening and see if I can get more info. I just don't want to spend money if I don't have to.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Graphics card issue?

The old Dell is a P4, 1.8 Ghz, 512 RAM, Nvidia GeForce4 MX420 64 MB. I am thinking the last one is the critical piece of the puzzle. I read the system req's on the game and they say at least a 64 MB card. DUH. The motherboards are almost identical with the exception of proc speed and the old PC doesn't have onboard graphics, newer one does and the newer one has a much better NIC. Looks like I have to spring for a new video card to play.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 12:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default Re: Graphics card issue?

.....
networkgeek is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 08:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Graphics card issue?

Go get a new graphic card.... you won't be able to play good games on integrated graphics from intel. Get a 8600 or something decent which will support windows vista and dx10.
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 08:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Graphics card issue?

lol. reinstall sys. everything's gonna be alright.
__________________

kaniobal is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't go onto Windows Logon or Accounts through graphics card, but will on shared gfx Linked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-28-2007 09:04 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Installed new graphics card, now pc won't turn on... capa2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-02-2007 06:42 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.