graphical craziness.

Status
Not open for further replies.

SYNAce

Beta member
Hey all.

I'm having an issue with my display when I'm running games and while I'm not a complete noob, I'm fairly close, so I thought I'd seek help from your collective wisdom.

Here are my specs of the rig I've been running for 2 years.
Asus PN5SLI
E6600
EVGA GF 7950
2 gig Corsair
XP

I was a bad person and allowed an excessive amount of dust to build up in my case -- I mean it looked like a haunted house there was so much dust. What happened was my two monitors dimmed suddenly, almost like there was a red filter over everything. As I began investigating, I opened the case and that's when I found the dustbowl. I blew some out with lung power and immediately, one of the monitors cleared up and so i took a can of air and cleared it out and everything was right as rain (or so I thought).

A couple days later, I went to play BattleField 2142 and started getting graphical anomalies. It looked like a haze was over the monitor and there were a couple of opaque rectangles and anytime an event would happen where I should get a blurred stun effect, I'd get a blinding wall of of white, pink, and blue pixels that would eventually subside. I also noticed in other games a loss of detail (I run everything at max detail). Here are some things I did:

1. Tried uninstalling drivers, cleaning out remnants and updating. Tried loading different drivers (Nvidia, Omega)
2. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling the game
3. Removed the card and reseated it
4. Bought a new graphics card (BFG 9500 GT) since i was planning on upgrading anyway (updated drivers)

Can't get the strange behavior to stop. I have, however, got it to change. The Battlefield graphics have at least returned to almost normal except for an almost imperceptible haze, but when an explosion happens or I'm killed, the screen goes dark and is covered by rows of white dots for a short period.