Graphic Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2006, 09:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default Graphic Error

Hi,
Well im recently having problems to do with graphics, I'm not sure what the problem is or if it can be fixed so got a question with some images of the error to share, and hopefully someone is nice enough and knows the problem

This error tends to happen like once maybe twice a day in total, The graphics just go a kind of fussy as posted in the image.



To fix this problem all it requires is a computer reboot and its abck to normal, Upon rebooting i got this message which is displayed below.



I'm thinking i may need a bigger Power supply maybe?

I'm running:
Athlon 64 3200+
2GB Corsair TwinX 4x 512mb
6800 GS PCI-E

Recently i had added a G15 to my machine and had 1GB (2x 512mb Corsair twinX) and upped it to 2GB - exacty same stuff. This is all i can think of for now, Hope someone can reply with some answers,
Thanks in advance,
__________________

steve567 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 07:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

what is the wattage rating of your power supply?
__________________

MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Running a 350 Watt PSU
steve567 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 12:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Might be your monitor, the refresh rate to high for it to handle maybe?
Law is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 12:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I use the monitor linked below and run at 1280x1024 at 75Hz refresh rate

http://www.digimate.co.uk/product_ne...lcd/L-1718.htm
steve567 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 01:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Hmm 350 is pushing it a bit. if you definately have all the power connectors attached (both to the graphics card and mobo) then you need to replace your PSU with a higher power one.
I'll see if I can fish out some sort of wattage guide.

Edit:

This link is in one of the stickies
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Ah thanks for that, I did that power reccomendation and it reccomends at least 326 Watts power supply(no PCI-E so used the 6800 GT AGP), And yea all the cords of the PSU are connected.

So from that you think the problem i am getting is to do with lack of power from my PSU? If so do you have any reccomend Wattage to reccomend i purchase?

Thanks,
steve567 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

I would of thought 450W or more would be a good idea, that way your covered for more upgrades. Personally I'd get a 500W or 550W PSU, though some may say thats overkill...
Myself I have a SCSI array and enough fans to fly a plane so that bumps up the consumption a bit + overclock..
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

not to insult your intelegents or anything... but you do have the psu pluged into the gfx card right?

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 02:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Yes i double checked and triple checked and everything is connect fine, and thats about the PSU ill have to price 1 up
__________________

steve567 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.