Graphic Card Probs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2006, 06:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Default Graphic Card Probs

I accendtly dropped something off the top of the computer which made the cable (Which connects to the plug (Don't know what it's called >_<) come out, so I rebooted and the light on the monitor still stayed orange, so I put the cable from the monitor to the onboard slot, and it still didn't come on. So I turned my computer off and took out the graphic card then tunred my computer back on and the monitor came on. Is my graphic card broke?

(It's a Geforce 6200 AGP if that helps.
__________________

Acuto is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 06:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

take it out and boot up the machine... do you hear any beeping?


This may be a stupid question but... Was the power cable out of the machine when you took the card out?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Default

No, i don't hear any beeping.

Yes, I did take out the cable.
Acuto is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 07:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

I doubt that you broke the video card by hitting the cable on the outside of the case. Seat it back in and try again, maybe it just got jarred a bit and wasn't making full contact.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Default

I'm made sure that it's in properly and it still doesn't work.
Acuto is offline  
Old 08-31-2006, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Tried the video card in another computer for kicks?

Is anything visibly damaged on the card?

I don't think there's a molex connector on a 6200 but if there is then make sure that's in (power connector).

Also try blowing out the AGP slot with canned air, AGP slots can be finicky if there's dirt in there.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 03:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Sorry for not posting in awhile, I've been really busy. Anyway, I'm just wondering if there's anyway to see if the AGP slot is fried? I've looked in the only shop which sells 2nd hand graphic cards and they didn't have any, and I don't want to buy a new graphic card since if it is the slot I would of just wasted money.
__________________

Acuto is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.