GPU upgrade = powering off - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2010, 07:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: GPU upgrade = powering off

A Google search will also show that Nvidia mobo's are known to have an issue with the Northbridge running hot. Are you using the water-cooling feature of the NB? I would apply new paste just to make sure it's not an issue.

One of your video cards is running significantly hotter than the other when both cards are installed. It's usually the bottom card that runs hotter because it's blocked in and doesn't get the ventilation of the other card. The paste could be degrading/drying and out and causing problems that aren't noticeable with just one card.

Your Voltages don't look bad but there also not under any strain at all. Try running a Benchmark like LinX or SuperPi and watch your voltage during the test and see if any of them fluctuate. Open HW Monitor and HWMonitor will both keep track of the high and low values so while the system may not crash, we still may see a problem.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-09-2010, 07:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belfast
Posts: 8
Send a message via MSN to gyaku_zuki
Default Re: GPU upgrade = powering off

I think its a bit pointelss, but here you are, temperatures and voltages after running a LinX routine:



There is no real fluctuation, but tbh I didn't expect much - with both GPUs sitting at 0% utilization the PSU can easily handle the CPU running at max. The problem only occurs with both GPUs installed and under stress.

I am not using the water cooling feature, and I will consider reapplying new paste but I'll wait and see if the ordered PSU solves the problem before I get to that - would rather avoid taking the entire thing apart if possible, and for the sake of a day or two waiting on the new PSU. I don't clearly identify a temperature reading in HWMonitor that is the Northbridge, downloading Asus' own PC Probe software only shows a motherboard temperature, currently 26 (my room is quite cold atm and its been sitting cold overnight). I'll check in the BIOS perhaps. But none of the temps in HWMonitor seem particularly high to me - eVGA 8800GTX KO/ACS3 chips, from Googling, usually run hotter idle than I have here, and my CPU temps considering the overclock from 2.66GHz to 3.10GHz is consistent with what I have always experienced even with my old GPUs, and as you can see, only just hits 70 on the cores under 100% and sustained load, which isn't there when the power cuts anyway.

In case you are wondering, I'm using an Antec 900 Gamer Case. I've always been impressed with its cooling ability and ventilation.

I honestly do think, on the balance of evidence, the PSU is the issue. I know what you are saying, the 600W should MAYBE be able to handle it. But factor in the age (I ordered it off Dabs and its no longer in my order history which means older than 36 months) and I think its right on the knife-edge. I mean, the thing was even able to have Supreme commander running for 2 hours, it was only the explosions of multiple nukes (and the associated bloom, smoke, particle effects stressing the GPU I imagine) which cut the power. Synthetically, FurMark achieves similar, by putting full load onto both GPUs simultaneously. Re-reading my maths from a previous post, at full load I would estimate my draw to be 580W. So in a hypothetical situation where my PSU can only supply 570W now, only a full load would push me into the danger zone.

Hopefully when the new PSU arrives this will be proven to be the case. Is there any software that would allow a selective load to be placed onto the GPU?

EDIT: In BIOS (so idle load) the Northbridge and Southbridge temperatures are 46 and 43 respectively which is fine.
__________________

gyaku_zuki is offline  
Old 10-09-2010, 08:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belfast
Posts: 8
Send a message via MSN to gyaku_zuki
Default Re: GPU upgrade = powering off

Giving you another screenshot, this time a full one. Discovered I could get an approximate 90% GPU load with high CPU load by using BOINC processing using cuda. Screenshot below. Right click and 'view image' to see the full size version if necessary in your browser.



You can see I have also successfully identified the north and southbridge temperatures in SpeedFan, and voltages are shown in PC Probe and HWMonitor. GPU load and temperature is shown in eVGA Precision, you can see that the temperatures remain stable at about 70/60 over the course of the testing. Northbridge rises to 54 during the test, which is perfectly fine.
gyaku_zuki is offline  
Old 10-13-2010, 07:31 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belfast
Posts: 8
Send a message via MSN to gyaku_zuki
Default Re: GPU upgrade = powering off

Ugh... as an aside, don't order anything from Purely Gadgets... kept me waiting since last Thursday for an 'in stock' item... suddenly there is a supplier problem and my order is 'backlogged'...
gyaku_zuki is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 03:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belfast
Posts: 8
Send a message via MSN to gyaku_zuki
Default Re: GPU upgrade = powering off

Final post for this thread - I said I'd update and hopefully it helps others in the same situation. New PSU has indeed solved the problem. Relieved and pleased. Thanks for the bouncing of ideas everyone, I don't mean this in an 'I was right' way but I'm glad I was right, as the alternatives were bad :S lol

Thanks again everyone
gyaku_zuki is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 04:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: GPU upgrade = powering off

Actually, no said it wasn't the psu, but why not take the 25mins to do free tests to double check things before you shell out any money.

Nobody here really wants to be responcible for someone spending money they didn't have too.

That said, glad the psu did it.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not powering up? Cluelessnoob Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-25-2009 02:45 AM
Powering up D-Rocks Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-14-2008 12:38 AM
Computer not powering on........ SpaZ85 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 09-01-2006 03:18 PM
Not powering up MikeyE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-14-2006 10:48 AM
help! powering a gpu fan hygor Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 03-17-2005 06:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.