Got new mobo but old problems. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2005, 05:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default Got new mobo but old problems.

ok i just got my
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131538
today and now when i go to boot it says scanning ide ports and then just shuts down.
now could this possibly be because the cpu fan is not being detected? because that got caught in the fan once but no noticable damage.
or is just cause im not setting the bios in time.
and as far as posting goes i only hear one beep and thats it.
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

i dont think it would shut of because the fan is no being detected,can u even get into the bios?
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

Interesting, i would almost want to say it is a problem with the CPU. Is the Heatsink installed properly? Did you use thermal Paste? Seems like your CPU is overheating, and to prevent damage it is shutting itself off. I would Unplug the machine, and re-install the CPU and Heatsink.
Good Luck

Phil
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 09:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I just had the same problem!! Its those damn 775 intel sockets! I hate them. Make sure u install the cpu h/s and fan outside of the case, so u can see if it all the h/s prongs go in ok. Its probably not touching the cpu properly and making the system shut down. It should get 2 100deg then shut down. Can u see ure cpu temp quickly in BIOS?
__________________
Pentium Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz
4Ghz 1066 RAM
2x 500G SATA II HDD
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS4
GeForce 8800GTS 320MG
Themaltake Armor

_______________________

Diploma in IT Computer Networking
Bachelor of Computer Science
chooka is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 04:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

ahh that may be right cause i did put my hs/f on after ill check it out thanks.
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 05:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

ok great ive got good news and bad. it was the fact that its the temps. bad news is ive gotten it to stay under a hundred and surf the bios and all that but i cant get it under 85C.i think im just gonna need to get a new hs/f cause this on is giving me troubles getting it on cause the pins that go into the mobo are messed up. 60$ down the toilet but i really dont wanna deal with it.
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.