got my free computer now i need some help!!! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2005, 11:55 AM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sui
Wait I forgot to mention you have to unplug it too.

Just making sure is say Vectra, and then immediately askes for that password right? Try tapping the del key when the computer turns on, they'll probably have a password lock on the bios too.
well after it says Vecta. Underneath it says press F2 to setup. I press that and it takes me to a black screen that says please wait, and some other stuff.

then in says press F1 to continue, i press that and it takes me to the password screen.
__________________

jordan123 is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 12:28 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Just take the motherboard battery out for 10 minute's it's probably the easiest way of doing it.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 12:45 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
Just take the motherboard battery out for 10 minute's it's probably the easiest way of doing it.
how do i do that? do i have to take the computer apart?
jordan123 is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 10:54 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Default

its like the shape of a watch battery but bigger about the size of a 25 cent coin. and its on the motherboard
Fredster102 is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 10:57 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fredster102
its like the shape of a watch battery but bigger about the size of a 25 cent coin. and its on the motherboard
so its inside the computer. ill see if i can get the password from the school first.
jordan123 is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 06:09 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Default

ok, so i asked him today hes like i dont know, so imma try some stuff.

Its an HP computer.

When i type in the password you cant actually see the letters being typed.

And it puts an X up after you reach/type 7 letters.

Any more help? thanks

Oh, school said something about a Boot Disk, would fix it?
jordan123 is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 11:29 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Update!

i got it working like past that password.

it already has XP on, yeah.

And theres a password, so is there an easy way to get past that?

to make it worse its all in Korean, so im bambled.
jordan123 is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 02:12 AM   #28 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/ntpasswd/bootdisk.html
Sui is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 12:34 PM   #29 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 27
Default Well let me know if i help you

After windows load try pressing enter with the administrator name and if its still locked then try getting the pass word from the school that you got it from. There are a few other way I think might help by jumpering the pins on the motherboard CMOS battery or leave the battery out for a while, but its best you get it from the school if thats possible.
__________________

obedyah is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.