got an issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2007, 10:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default got an issue

I'm formatting my drive now, but lately it's been giving me fits (before format of course) things like:

Winamp locking up
games lock up upon start up
I cannot restart the machine. I have to shut it down completely, wait about 20 seconds, then start it up again.
Nero Locks up
and all of this is after a little while of the system sitting idle. I checked all the jumpers, cables, etc... I even upplugged the IDE drive and left the sata burner only. something is causing this and it's giving me fits! I need some fresh thoughts. I'm loading everything now, and when I need to restart, I have to shut down, then start again... it sucks!
HEP me, HEP me...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default Re: got an issue

test your ram for errors thats the only thign i can think off..
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default Re: got an issue

First reading your post I wanted to call it a bad hard drive issue. But you mention these problems only kick in after some time with the system running. This is then most likely a heat issue. Check the temps for the processor to see if it is "normal" for your type of processor. If you built the system yourself, things like applying thermal grease to the heatsink and processor might have been done incorrectly or not done at all. Also check the temp for your motherboard in general, it shouldn't be as hot as your processor. More cooling could be needed. I don't think it is a memory problem as that would throw blue screens at you.

Just for good measure in case it is actually still a hard drive issue. Check the SMART status using a tool like Astra32 or Everest.
poorman is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default Re: got an issue

It happens when the computer is idle... the temps won't have anything to do with this. The computer would just freeze up totally or restart on its own if its a temp issue so that isn't the problem. I am sure its also not a HD issue due it only really happening when the computer is idle.

memory issues don't always throw a blue screen of death at you. I was thinking more along the lines that the ram can't hold the information (or other words getting discarged) after to long which would help explain y it does it only while its just sitting there doing nothing.
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: got an issue

Welp... replaced the ram with another set I had, reseated the GPU, AND... reapplied AS5 on the CPU... still nothing... I'm getting the same issue. When restart, it appears that the hard drive goes idle, and the video does not start up. Like it freezes up once I restart. but once I wait about 20-30 seconds (seems to have to reset itself) everything starts up as normal.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 02:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default Re: got an issue

i don't know this is most likely a stupid question but is the inside of the computer clean?
__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 05:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: got an issue

oh god yes... here's the specs so you know what I'm working with

Gigabyte 965P-DS3 mobo
E6300 w/ZALMAN 9500
PNY 8800GTS
Audigy2 ZS sound card
2GB (was 4) G skill DDR2 800
WD 250GB Sata II hard drive
Coolmax 600W PSU
Sata DVD burner
IDE CD burner
Silverstone temjin TJ09 full tower

I was out for a while running around, once I can back after about 2 hours... Winamp still locks up, so I know it's not a software thing (I just reloaded the OS) it's not drivers that I can tell, so the only thing left to do is think about hardware... but I'm stumped now. Some apps still work after an idle period, but some don't, so I have no clue...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with start up. Peter.Cort Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-30-2007 12:43 PM
Sound Issue Dieo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 07-13-2007 03:19 PM
TV Card issue AntonOle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-17-2007 08:31 AM
Weird IE7 Issue reubix Microsoft Windows and Software 1 05-02-2007 02:54 PM
A Corporate Networking Issue Notsoluckycharm6 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 04-18-2007 01:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.