Good clean method for installing xp pro - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2007, 01:58 AM   #21 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

honestly, i dont see any increase in gaming performance. I am kinda dissappointed.
Ive oc my gfx card to 585/800now.
my 3dmark score is around 5100 now.

The game i like playing most is Call of juarez and rainbow six las vegas.
Their is an option called hardware skinning...idk what that is for.
And i set my settings on medium low for it to play good.
I though my new processor...especially oc will help more and my gfx will do good.

And im fine at 2.43, i doubt increasing it more would make any more diff.

Do you suggest getting dual core optimizer and gettting that hot fix for it?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 01:07 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
honestly, i dont see any increase in gaming performance. I am kinda dissappointed.
Ive oc my gfx card to 585/800now.
my 3dmark score is around 5100 now.

The game i like playing most is Call of juarez and rainbow six las vegas.
Their is an option called hardware skinning...idk what that is for.
And i set my settings on medium low for it to play good.
I though my new processor...especially oc will help more and my gfx will do good.

And im fine at 2.43, i doubt increasing it more would make any more diff.

Do you suggest getting dual core optimizer and gettting that hot fix for it?
Yeah, try using the dual core optimiser.

Although ultimately, there's only so much a CPU can do for video performance. After the CPU is done processing all the physics, polygons, AI etc.. the frames per second you get will still be restricted by your video card.

But consider that I was only able to reach about 4,900 points when I had a 7900 GT at 750MHZ - with 24 pixel pipelines and 8 vertex shaders, instead of the 20 pixel pipelines and 6 vertex shaders that the 7900 GS has. That's 18 billion operations per second (750 x 24) vs 11,600 billion (20 x 580)

When I got that score, it was with a Sempron 2800+ at 2.0GHZ
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 01:49 PM   #23 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

well. instead of me spending money on buying a processor and a mobo, i think id be better off putting that money on a gfx card. Or i should have just left it the way it was when i had my single processor and 7900gs and save up more money and buidling a better gaming pc.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:09 PM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
well. instead of me spending money on buying a processor and a mobo, i think id be better off putting that money on a gfx card. Or i should have just left it the way it was when i had my single processor and 7900gs and save up more money and buidling a better gaming pc.
Well there are no correct answers, it's a purely subjective matter as to what you should do.

When I had my 7900 GT at 750MHZ, with my Sempron 2800+, I was reasonably happy with how games performed. But it still lacked. The CPU just didn't have quite the performance I wanted out of it.

I mean, it was fast, but still limiting.

a CPU is a very important aspect to how fast a computer is, and if you play games, then so is a graphics card.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 02:43 PM   #25 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

well, some games i play dont lag as much, they use to lag.
When playing rainbow six, i have to put shadows on low and bloom on med. HDR is on. It use to lag a big. But its fine.

But now i realize my sound SUX. IT keeps repeating. This is only in games. Even in some other games. Some of the dialogues repeat when they start talking.
Do you think this is my mobo? the drivers? i just re installed the audio drivers.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-27-2007, 11:52 PM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
well, some games i play dont lag as much, they use to lag.
When playing rainbow six, i have to put shadows on low and bloom on med. HDR is on. It use to lag a big. But its fine.

But now i realize my sound SUX. IT keeps repeating. This is only in games. Even in some other games. Some of the dialogues repeat when they start talking.
Do you think this is my mobo? the drivers? i just re installed the audio drivers.
the Realtek AC'97 sound card is not exactly high-end
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 01:10 AM   #27 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

is it wors then what i use to have? cos hat nver gave me ppppppoblems
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 01:59 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
is it wors then what i use to have? cos hat nver gave me ppppppoblems
What did you have before?
You could always upgrade to a PCI sound card.
even a SB Live is better than the onboard card.
Then there's the Audigy 2's, then the X-Fi's.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:11 AM   #29 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

hah, im not that rich...ive spent so much money already.
Im plannin on bulding a better computer when 9 series come out. And when i build a better pc, i want to able to max out every game out there.
Whats the cheapest card that will do good?(for sound)
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 07:31 AM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
hah, im not that rich...ive spent so much money already.
Im plannin on bulding a better computer when 9 series come out. And when i build a better pc, i want to able to max out every game out there.
Whats the cheapest card that will do good?(for sound)
Audigy SE
with 5.1 surround
with 7.1 suround
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommend a Good MMORPG zetahammy PC Gaming 12 09-29-2007 01:25 PM
A good fan controller? MildTweeker Overclocking and Modding 11 09-04-2007 06:27 AM
Good UK online website that sells / specializes in mp3s? Willeh Off Topic Discussion 5 07-27-2007 08:02 PM
Is GoDaddy really any good veg1992 Web Graphics and Design 7 04-16-2007 11:34 PM
Good Webcam? SiZcO Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 04-07-2007 02:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.