Good clean method for installing xp pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2007, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Good clean method for installing xp pro

I want to install xp pro again and make sure it installs my dual core.
What steps from start would you suggest.
When i start up from boot they get complicated.
Im not sure if i should format the partition first then install. or what.
please help
thanks
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

Reformat your hard-drive, delete all partitions, and then run Windows SP2 setup.
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-22-2007, 11:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

when you say re format..will their be an option to refomat when i load the setup from start up?

Or do you think a win xp repair will fix it?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 12:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

Windows XP Repair? That seems like you're just going to reformat your HDD. Well, from what I remember when this happened to me, I inserted the CD and booted it from the Options Boot screen. Selected my optical drive as a boot, and it loaded the Windows SP2 setup (it was a blue screen) it went through all the other steps and then it came to the partition screen. There should be 2 options, a quick option and a regular option. I chose the regular option to delete my partition and everything went fine afterwards.

But that was after I got a new HDD. Before when I had the Maxtor, everything wasn't going as I thought it would be.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 02:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

hey I FINALLY GOT IT FIXED. i did a full re format again and everything works.
The sound and dual core.
SWEET.
I read that i might have to download the win xp patch and dual core optimizer? and do something with the boot.ini.
Is this necessary?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 03:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

Haha, nice! ! Well about the other programs you listed in the previous post, I don't really know.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 04:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

thats fine thanks
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 04:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
hey I FINALLY GOT IT FIXED. i did a full re format again and everything works.
The sound and dual core.
SWEET.
I read that i might have to download the win xp patch and dual core optimizer? and do something with the boot.ini.
Is this necessary?
The first thing I do when I install Windows is install the drivers, then I disable a whole bunch of Windows services (system restore, remote access, windows update, security centre, error reporting, help and support, fast user switching etc..), alter paging file settings (I disable it on my system with 2GB RAM), disable some animations

THEN I install my programs
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 05:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

is system restore really bad?
i like it enabled just in case something goes wrong.
what services do i disable.
I do have 2 gigs of ram so i guess ill disable paging file
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 07-23-2007, 06:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Good clean method for installing xp pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
is system restore really bad?
i like it enabled just in case something goes wrong.
It's not really bad, but I just don't use it.
By the time something might go very wrong, I'll probably be reinstalling XP anyway.
Quote:
what services do i disable.
I've listed some in my previous post.

disable remote assistance (in properties in my computer), remote registry, fast user switching (if you only use one username), help and support (as if that was ever much help anyway), indexing service, messenger, netmeeting remote desktop sharing, remote desktop help session manager, remote registry, security centre, task scheduler, wireless zero configuration (only if you don't use a wireless card).

Quote:
I do have 2 gigs of ram so i guess ill disable paging file
yes, It'll run quite well without paging file.

also, go to start -> run
run "gpedit.msc" (without quotes)

go to computer configuration -> administrative templates -> Network -> QOS packet scheduler

in the right window, go to limit reservable bandwith. Enable it, and set it to zero. That gives you 20% of your bandwith back that XP normally steals off you.


Also, make a .bat file, stick it somewhere like C:\windows, and add the following lines into it:

del C:\windows\refetch\*.* /q
del C:\windows\temp\*.* /q
del C:\documents and settings\your user name\local settings\temp\*.* /q


save it, and then go back to the group policy editor
under computer configuration -> windows settings, open scripts (startup/shutdown)
and add the .bat file to the shutdown

What it does is delete the temporary files and prefetch files every shutdown, and makes things faster, including boot time.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommend a Good MMORPG zetahammy PC Gaming 12 09-29-2007 01:25 PM
A good fan controller? MildTweeker Overclocking and Modding 11 09-04-2007 06:27 AM
Good UK online website that sells / specializes in mp3s? Willeh Off Topic Discussion 5 07-27-2007 08:02 PM
Is GoDaddy really any good veg1992 Web Graphics and Design 7 04-16-2007 11:34 PM
Good Webcam? SiZcO Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 04-07-2007 02:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.