Going to break something soon.... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2007, 01:40 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Yea, most "good" motherboards will allow a flash from a thumb drive or what not..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 01:57 AM   #22 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

you veed, what are your ram timings set at?
i god a bsod when it was at 4 4 4 12, but then it was fine when it was at 5 5 5 15.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 05:26 PM   #23 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

sorry for hi-jack but yes how do you flash bios to a higher version if u just built a custom comp and it doesnt have flash disk,drive
Chrysamere is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 06:43 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Not sure if this may have been answered yet, or if anyone will agree, but Vista will nearly fill all of the physical RAM up and then start on the pagefile. That is probably why Vista will BSOD with those sticks and XP wont, xp usualy wont load everything it can into the physical RAM. So you can probably see why Vista is crashing more with the 3 or 4 sticks than what XP would be.

EDIT: BTW, try running Memtest 86+ or vistas Memtest program (they are actualy the same program I think). Let it run for a good 24hours in a normal enviroment. This way you can really make sure it IS the ram... Better than trying to flash a bios and possibly ****ing up.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 10:23 AM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

I'm really starting to think its the board that has the problem. Because i had issues with running 4 sticks of memory before i switched to my tracers. Now i cant even boot, i get a post error and 7F displays on the little led on the board.

Oh, my scythe sflex was the first victim. It just refused to stay mounted to the TRUE and got hucked against the wall. It now lays in about 100 pieces.
*rip*
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 12:13 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

I RMA "things" before breaking them...
Ste is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 12:35 PM   #27 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Nah the fan wasnt broken, it sadly was just what was in my hand when i hit the point of SOMETHING MUST DIE. After having it fall off the heatsink 3 times that night i had had enough.

Friends dont let friends drink and compute.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 01:12 PM   #28 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

hey veedub, for some reason ive been having random bsods, even after running my bios default, its frustrating me too now.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 01:19 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

If I try to run everything at stock, My board will give a "bad cpu or improperly installed" Post error.

Its kinda funny actually.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 01:22 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Hey guess what....Evga is letting people with 680i boards step up to 780i boards for 90 bucks. Guess what i'll be doing soon
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06 b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 103 09-04-2007 12:31 AM
AMD's 3GHZ K10 to break 30,000 3Dmark06 points Apokalipse Overclocking and Modding 4 08-29-2007 10:37 AM
Scientists Break the Speed of Light TheEnd187 New Technology and Products 3 08-28-2007 12:52 AM
prison break robina_80 Off Topic Discussion 10 04-04-2007 10:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.