Going to break something soon.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2007, 11:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

My board has 3 pci-e slots. I'm running my 8800gt cards in the 2 16x slots and my old 1650pro in my 4x slot. If the memory was faulty, wouldnt i be crashing on my xp partition too? **** YOU BILLGATES.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 12:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
My board has 3 pci-e slots. I'm running my 8800gt cards in the 2 16x slots and my old 1650pro in my 4x slot. If the memory was faulty, wouldnt i be crashing on my xp partition too? **** YOU BILLGATES.
hmmm, your right.
i use to get random bsods and i didnt know why, but after reformatting my pc, re setting cmos everything was fine.
although the ram part doesnt make sense, unless 64 bit is having problems with reading the 4th gb of ram.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 12:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Well, it seems you have tried most everything I would have suggested.
But just in case you didn't try this.
Have you tried different memory?
Have you tried to flashing the BIOS? or is it already up to date.

Have you considered RMAing the motherboard and or RAM?

It is ashame but sometimes it happens. Took me seven CMOS clears and heatsink reseats on the new board until it even POSTed successfully.
Course that was probably somehow in part to the amount of static produced when I lapped the processor. But whatever, it works now..
Ste is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 12:38 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Like i said earlier, if the memory was the issue it would show up when running xp. As to the board, wouldnt i also have issues in xp also? I havent updated the bios to see if thats a problem.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 12:42 AM   #15 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Like i said earlier, if the memory was the issue it would show up when running xp. As to the board, wouldnt i also have issues in xp also? I havent updated the bios to see if thats a problem.
you do know that computers have the wierdest of problems.
so try the bios update and then check to see if it works.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 12:44 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Like i said earlier, if the memory was the issue it would show up when running xp. As to the board, wouldnt i also have issues in xp also? I havent updated the bios to see if thats a problem.
Maybe, but at this point, you have tried everything else right? So you have little to lose..
Ste is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 01:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

I have never actually flashed a bios. I've always been paranoid about ruining the board due to it not working right. Whats the safest way to do it anyway. Just use a flash drive?
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 01:25 AM   #18 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
I have never actually flashed a bios. I've always been paranoid about ruining the board due to it not working right. Whats the safest way to do it anyway. Just use a flash drive?
if you have a floppy disk use that, otherwise fflash drive should be fine.
Although i flashed my upstairs pc with a software and it worked that way and it hasnt given me any problems.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 01:26 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Heh, this rig doesnt even have a floppy drive on it
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 01:29 AM   #20 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Going to break something soon....

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Heh, this rig doesnt even have a floppy drive on it
mine doesnt either and neither does the one upstairs.

i guess flash drive it will be or a software if you wanna even though it isnt recommended.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06 b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 103 09-04-2007 12:31 AM
AMD's 3GHZ K10 to break 30,000 3Dmark06 points Apokalipse Overclocking and Modding 4 08-29-2007 10:37 AM
Scientists Break the Speed of Light TheEnd187 New Technology and Products 3 08-28-2007 12:52 AM
prison break robina_80 Off Topic Discussion 10 04-04-2007 10:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.