Goes to black, in BIOS or Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2007, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Default Goes to black, in BIOS or Windows

After about 90 seconds of being on and going through it's boot sequence my computer goes to black, and will eventually reboot after about 10 mins.

Specs:

AMD 3900+ 64bit
ASUS Vid Card PCI-E
2 GIGS (2 dimms) of identical RAM
Antec Purepower 560W? PSU

Any idea what could be causing this? What information do you need to diagnose? I have a hunch it's the PSU... I am on my third PSU in about 2.5 years I think.

Edit- I was in the bios and the power 12v power reading was 11.97v it says it should be "12v+"
__________________

screwschom is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 12:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Goes to black, in BIOS or Windows

11.97v is normal its never exact.
When you say your computer goes black do you mean your monitor goes on stand-by and then reboots after 10min?
To be sounds like you CMOS should be cleared or it needs a replacement battery
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 12:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Goes to black, in BIOS or Windows

or a overheating problem
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 12:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Goes to black, in BIOS or Windows

o ya forgot to mention that, hehe
while you have 90sec go to your BIOS and see what temps your getting from the CPU
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 01:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Goes to black, in BIOS or Windows

CPU and System temp both read 37*C / 98* F
screwschom is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Goes to black, in BIOS or Windows

must be psu dying out
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-10-2007, 02:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Goes to black, in BIOS or Windows

Another thing worth mentioning...

Battery is 2.97V

The other day when this problem was devloping I got a Keyboard device failure message on bootup, and also had problem with the keyboard and mouse working.

A few times when I've started the computer and gotten to the desktop it does the error reporting thing which when I look at the detials it says that there was a "unknown device driver error"

Could this be concistant with a dying PSU?
screwschom is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 04:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Goes to black, in BIOS or Windows

Anyone else willing to put money on it being a bad PSU?
screwschom is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 09:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Goes to black, in BIOS or Windows

try unplugging everything like IDE cables, power cables going to the HD, Virtual drives, etc. leave only plugged in the CPU\heatsink, RAM, video card (or use the onboard if it has one), PSU 20\24pin connector (4pin 12v also if it has one), and the power button in the front of the computer.
Now check if it goes black, tell you the truth i dont think its your PSU crapping out i think your HD is scr3wing with you or your motherboard
You can try a different PSU form someone else but i doubt it
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 03:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: Goes to black, in BIOS or Windows

yea it sounds like a psu problem just go through all the posts people post up like this one. If you do find out its the psu though i recommend a seasonic brand, cant go wrong with seasonic.
__________________

wolfeyes89 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows xp file sharing coolray Microsoft Windows and Software 3 01-06-2008 06:08 PM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Mac OSX style Windows Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-06-2007 12:05 PM
Windows XP ACPI help!!! Matth3w Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-06-2007 06:37 AM
Windows Activation Problem SmellyOne Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-28-2007 09:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.