Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3P Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2007, 02:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 82
Default Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3P Problem

Hello, I just bought a DS3P mobo and have it installed now. But I can't seem to get the USB Drivers for the board. I can have my mouse and keyboard on PS2, but the USB is not functional. Evertime I try to install it it asks me for the usbehci.sys file which seems to be non-existant. I can't find anytrhing on the Gigabyte site nor from Google really. Does anyone know about this issue and how to fix it?

Cheers.
__________________

NZ-Disciple is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 03:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

http://ftp.sanguine.net/pub/sahughes...USB2/WIN98&ME/
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 82
Default

Will those work for XP Pro? I saw this file as well... but worried it may harm the system. I don't know enough about this stuff to just download a file and install everything with a smile.
NZ-Disciple is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 04:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

people have said it works for xp, i personally dont know. the worst that could happen is it doesnt work, in which case it doesnt work now so there really isnt a harm. its worth a shot, its not going to blow your system up. if they dont work, just delete them.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 03:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 82
Default

Well all the USB is up and running so the device manager says, but the ports around the back still do not work. When I plu my mouse and KB in the side USB ports the KB and mouse work and are recognized. I don't even get the power light on the KB when I plug it in the rear ports. Once when I took out the mouse from the side I got a popup window saying something like the voltage has exceeded the usb hubs limit and to reset or close. Very confused and worried half my board is maybe faulty? Please help on this.

Cheers
NZ-Disciple is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 04:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

the board is either faulty or you have a bad power supply since it said about voltage, you may not have enough juice to run your computer. those are my two idea.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 04:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

You must have something wrong with your rig. I'm assuming you put in your driver disc as soon as you got into windows and let it run right?
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 05:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 82
Default

I did load the disk initially, but it wanted the wierd usbechi.sys file, then came right for some reason after installing some of the drivers from the website. It is doing some pretty wierd things I haven't seen before. And now that I have everything "good" according to the device manager things aren't good. I should have plenty of power with the iPower coolermaster 600W PSU, so not understanding that. I am leaning toward a bad board yet again from this guy. The first one he gave me was a dead DS3.

Should I just go ahead after the weekend and give it back saying diagnose it and fix it? Or maybe this is a wierd prob with this brand of board although I have heard it to be a great board.

Sorry.. just flamin mad over this. 2600 on a new system with probs left and right..
__________________

NZ-Disciple is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.