Gigabyte GA-8IK1100 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default Gigabyte GA-8IK1100

Hi,

I'm looking to upgrade my RAM and I'm struggling to find some kind of chart that displays what memory patterns my motherboard supports. (kind of confusing I apologize). Right now I have four 256mb kingston sticks, and I wanted to mix a 1gb stick with my other four 256mb sticks. Do you think this would work?

Thanks,
The51
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 01:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Well your motherboard takes the standard DDR SDRAM 400 MHz • 333 MHz • 266 MHz up to 4 gigs so you could do that fine...
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

I don't think I will be able to mix different sizes.
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The51
I don't think I will be able to mix different sizes.
There is no reason why you cannot. Try it. The worst that can happen is that it will not work.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

yeah, and I will be out $100
__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.