gfx problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2006, 09:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 124
Default gfx problems

ive been playing alot of wow as of late and dod:s and this has just started happening whre during gameplay my fps will drop substantially for 5-20 seconds and then pop back up to normal does anyone know what might be causing this?

it is quite annoying. any help would be much appreciated
__________________

Ocer 939 is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

What kind of card are you running?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 08:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

Maybe it is just lag, because there is lag in the main cities in WoW, I know that it lags in them for my friend, which would cause it to seem like ther is a fps drop.
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 09:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 124
Default

nope happens everywhere and in dod:s specially when i shoot my gun

my card: Asus N6800 512MB GF6800 AGP8X-VGA 2DVI TVOUT

just noticed after popping in samurai champloo that in apps like WMP and power dvd i have to knock down hardware acceleration to get movies to play properly otherwise there dark and discolored
Ocer 939 is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 09:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wetaskiwin Alberta
Posts: 498
Send a message via MSN to nVdia Send a message via Yahoo to nVdia
Default

Have you updated your nVdia drivers?
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo E6750
Gigabyte S series N650 SLI
Evga 8800GT Superclocked 512MB
4 Patriot Extreme DDR2800
Seagate Barracuda 320gig SATA 2
Seagate Barracuda 200gig SATA 2
Antec 900 Gaming Case
Enermax Liberty 620watt Modular
Acer 22inch Widescreen HDTV/DVI
Windows Vista Ultimate 32 Bit
nVdia is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 04:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 124
Default

uhm yeppers
Ocer 939 is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 12:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default

how much ram do you have?

also try running some virus/spyware scans.. maybe you have an infection
__________________

networkgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.