GFX card switch - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2006, 08:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default GFX card switch

Ok, I switched an agp Radeon 9200 with a pci Radeon 9250... Problem is the moniter doesn't get a signal from the pci card... I plugged it into the onboard gfx and it works fine... I tried to see if there was a bios setting, but the bios has a freakin password and I can't rember/don't know what it is. I checked in device manager and nothing comes up... anyone know what the problem is? I'v tried 2 different pci slots, one that was use, and one that wasn't.... the fan on the card is spinning and it's almost no dofferent to the origional card, so what's the problem?
__________________

__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 08:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 90
Default

there should be a jumper on the mobo that will reset your password.
__________________

SpoiledBoar is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Take out the battery go out for a coffee or something and come back, put the battery back in, the password should have been removed (never tried it though.)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Default

I have tried. Removing the battery is most effective way to remove the BIOS password, but is better to wait about 24 hrs before you put it back.
Abdul11 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 12:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default

24 hours ..... u could take it out for 2 min and it will have the same result
eLeVeN_11 is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 01:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

The problem is that your onboard graphics is taking priority over the PCI card. If you have your motherboard manual, it should tell you where the CMOS reset jumper is. If you cant find it, post you motherboard model so we can try to find it for you.
The jumper should be next to the battery, or very close to it. Move that jumper from pins 1+2 to pins 2+3 for about 5 seconds, then move it back. That should clear your CMOS
Vybuni is offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 08:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Ya, I fixed the bios password problem. It's a freakin' compaq pos.. sigh.. I gave up and went back to the AGP card cause it just didn't seem to work after I changed it to pci... all well... Won't be long untill I have a new comp anyway.

Thanks anyway
__________________

__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.