Gfx card problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2006, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Default Gfx card problems

I just recieved a new graphics card (X850XT) and ram and have installed it. When playing games, the graphics card sometimes either locks up and freezes, or doesn't put the image on the monitor anymore. This occasionally used to happen with my old card but not nearly as often (my old card was a 9200).

One thing I think could be causing it is a lack of power. Would removing a disk drive (I have 2) mean that there would be more power available for the card to use? Or if it is a lack of power, would I have to buy a new power supply?

The other thing I think it could be is a dodgy card (it did do it on my old card though, but rarely).

What do you think? I think the power supply is the culprit. So would removing a drive mean more power is available to the gfx card or is that not how it works?
__________________

Penguinlord is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Can you give us the specs of your computer? Especially the PSU

Also have you updated to the latest drivers and have checked your temps?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 04:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Default

My specs are:

Athlon 64 3200+ (754)
1gb PC3200
Radeon X850XT agp

I don't know my PSU. I'll try and get it now by seeing if there's a sticker on it saying the power.
Penguinlord is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 04:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

I heard the X8** series were very power hungry video cards, so hopefully its aboce 450W
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 05:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Default

I've found numbers that say 250W and 230W on the PSU along with some other stuff I can't make sense of. I think we found the problem though lol.
Penguinlord is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 05:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Uh 250W uh erm yeah... :freak: You got some problems, hopefully it doesnt go BOOM on you
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 05:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Is there a possibility that it could explode? Even if I don't play any games or 3D stuff?
Penguinlord is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
TechyBurst
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch
Default

Yeah prolly. i would get a new psu ASAP! dont wanna damage ur card do ya? thats pretty expensive. and if the psu blows something even more expensive might. so get a new psu ASAP!!!!
__________________
Rebuilding in progress... Pending Specs....

Yours Truly,
Dr.Gootch
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 23
Default

I will asap. Do you think a 450W would do for this machine? I want to be sure.

Athlon 64 3200+ (socket 754)
1gb PC3200
Radeon X850XT agp
2 Dvd Disk Drives
TV Card (I know this uses power so I thought I'd put it)

Also, just to make sure it's not overheating are temperatures of around
42c for temp1
26c for temp2 and
26c for HD0 (when writing this) o.k? I tested them in SpeedFan. My fan speeds are 3700 and 2744.
Penguinlord is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 06:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

in a psu , what truly matters is the amper rating not the watts , diffrent psus of same wattage have diffrent amper rating and some are much more powerful then others ,i recommend these
http://www.thenerds.net/index.php?pa...age&pn=TPII430
http://www.thenerds.net/index.php?pa...age&pn=TPII480

the temps look good , however you havnt included the video card temp , might be able to see it with everest , anyway its probably fine the psu is what you should be worried about
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.