Getting my PS2 to play on my Monitor... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2008, 03:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 84
Default Getting my PS2 to play on my Monitor...

I have the x2vga for my Wii, but to get the one for PS2 is really expensive. Pretty much I googled it and looked around, most links were dead or old, or TV Tuners which I heard have lag/suck for this purpose. If not please recommend a brand/type. I would plug into my video card but it has no video in unfortunately (8800 GT). So I come to you guys: do you know of a relatively cheap and effective way to get my PS2 to work on my monitor? Looking under $100.

Thanks.
__________________

Akumajin is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 03:21 AM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Getting my PS2 to play on my Monitor...

Have you tried EBay? The PS2 version is pretty old and as you said most links are dead. There are some TV Tuner cards that are good. This is the one I'm getting for my media PC: NCIXUS.com - Diamond TV Wonder 650 Theater PCI-E TV Tuner Card ATSC NTSC HDTV
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 04:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 84
Default Re: Getting my PS2 to play on my Monitor...

That's a nice card, just expensive.

Haven't checked ebay because I don't know what to look for!
Akumajin is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 09:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Getting my PS2 to play on my Monitor...

How about a cable to connect the PS3 to a computer monitor? Does that even exist?
cubaninc is offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 09:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 40
Default Re: Getting my PS2 to play on my Monitor...

there are converters that let you connect your ps2 to a monitor. I have one, but I have to find it to see what it is called. They do exist though.
fireball is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 01:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 84
Default Re: Getting my PS2 to play on my Monitor...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubaninc View Post
How about a cable to connect the PS3 to a computer monitor? Does that even exist?
Ya, hdmi conversions.

For the PS2 converter...do you know what it is? I found out all TV tuners cause lag so I'm out of options
Akumajin is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 11:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 40
Default Re: Getting my PS2 to play on my Monitor...

What I have is just a VGA Box. Connect your monitor to it, then connect that to the computer. Plug the cables into it from your ps2 like you would to the back of your tv. Thats it. graphics are not great, but it is more than playable.
fireball is offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 06:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 84
Default Re: Getting my PS2 to play on my Monitor...

How much did yours cost/which do you recommend?
Akumajin is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 01:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 40
Default Re: Getting my PS2 to play on my Monitor...

sorry for the delay, been very busy lately.

I think I paid around $40 for it, but you might be able to get it cheaper, not sure though. I do not remember where I got it from. You could try googling.

If you aren't looking for a clean transition and just want to be able to play the game. then i'd go for one of these. mine was like 5 years old, so you may be able to get a better picture with newer ones.
__________________

fireball is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with hooking my xbox 360 to my computer so that i can play it on my monitor passivehammer Microsoft XBox 4 02-20-2008 05:53 AM
LiveCD and Monitor don't play nice RoboticSithDrone Linux and Open Source 1 02-05-2008 10:55 PM
PS2 on a Widescreen Computer Monitor? Biggie578 Sony Playstation 1 01-11-2008 08:36 AM
ps2 2 port switch for ps2 ^^ phantomdentist General Gaming 0 11-18-2007 01:56 PM
Using my computer monitor for PS2 Zer033 Sony Playstation 3 09-16-2007 12:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.