GEOM ERROR!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2009, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default GEOM ERROR!!!!

Sup everyone, so today i just wanted to do something nice and simple and switch my power supply from the bottom of my case to the top of my case, i also cleaned out dust when I plugged everything back in and rebooted. I got a blank screen and "geom error". Anyone know what this is about, I am running windows 7 and have multiple sata hard drives.
__________________

kskwerl is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 07:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: GEOM ERROR!!!!

Thanks for the help in advance
__________________

kskwerl is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: GEOM ERROR!!!!

Disk geometry? When do you get this error?

Also, please do not double post, use the edit button.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: GEOM ERROR!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
Disk geometry? When do you get this error?

Also, please do not double post, use the edit button.
Sorry about x2 post. I got this error when I put my power supply back into my computer and turned it in. The only thing I removed was some 80gb HDD that I think only had Prime95 on it. But after I got the "Geom Error" i plugged it back in.The hard disks goes like this.

C: 500gb OS win 7
D: 80gb prime 95

Then the 3 others are a 500gb for backups, a 1tb for movies and an external 1tb for movies.

After i plugged everything back in and went to boot my pc I got this "Geom Error" and nothing will happen.
kskwerl is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: GEOM ERROR!!!!

Make sure all the PSU cables are plugged in securely. Also what I meant by when was "when in the boot sequence", "geom error" is not one I recognise. Can you get into the BIOS?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 08:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: GEOM ERROR!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
Make sure all the PSU cables are plugged in securely. Also what I meant by when was "when in the boot sequence", "geom error" is not one I recognise. Can you get into the BIOS?
I have double checked the psu cables a couple times. Seems ok. But the "geom error" is right after the foxconn screen where i have the option to select boot seq. or enter the bios and yes i can enter the bios.
kskwerl is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 08:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: GEOM ERROR!!!!

Check that all your drives are being detected then clear the CMOS.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD ERROR ON SISGRV.DLL hubbardukhh Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 09-08-2009 08:59 AM
virus shuts down avg 8.5, commonpriv.log.lock VirusHater HijackThis Logs (finished) 9 06-05-2009 09:21 PM
How to troubleshoot specific STOP Errors KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 15 05-20-2009 03:22 PM
DBD::mysql Perl module install CrazeD Linux and Open Source 4 02-28-2009 05:37 PM
Possible Corrupted/Infected Files. xXxexpertxXx Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 03-12-2008 01:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.