Generic Non-Pnp Monitor issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2011, 11:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Question Generic Non-Pnp Monitor issue

Comp Specs:
- Windows 7 (64 bit)
- nvidia GeForce GTX 460
- A Vizio TV connected to my computer with an HDMI cord (set as display 1)
- A Samsung monitor connected to my computer with a VGA Cable (Set as display 2).

I turned on my computer today and, for some reason, my resolution is now maxed out at 1280 x 720 as a default in Display -> Screen resolution. My Vizio TV has always been shown as having a native resolution of 1920x1080, but, for some reason, that caused a lot of the screen to go off on the sides. I had to make a custom resolution at (I can't remember the exact number) something like 1880x 900.

When I go to Display -> Screen resolution, my "Display 1" (Vizio) is now just called "Generic Non-Pnp Monitor". My "Display 2" (Samsung) is the same.

When I got to my Nvidia Control Panel and then Display -> Change Resolution I can select "Customize" and then apply 1920x1080. It works as it did before, but again, that resolution is too large for my monitor. When I try to make a custom resolution, at any numbers that aren't generic (like 1280 x 720 and 1920x1080) it tells me "Test Failed" and that my custom resolution is not supported by my display. I need to be able to set my Vizio back at around 1880x 900, but I cannot.

I have not installed anything at all on my computer between when it worked last night and when I discovered it messed up today.

I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling my display driver, but that didn't help. I have also tried (another solution I found online) to unplug my power and monitor and let it sit like that for awhile and then plug everything back in, but again that didn't work.

This issue seems to have afflicted numerous people, and I see posts about it everywhere, but I have not seen a single answer.

Please, if anyone has any ideas, they would be much appreciated.
__________________

JACofNoIdeas is offline  
Old 01-20-2011, 09:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Generic Non-Pnp Monitor issue

This might be a driver problem. Do you have the latest drivers for your card? If you have the most recent, get an older driver.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-20-2011, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Generic Non-Pnp Monitor issue

I tried rolling-back and updating. Neither worked.
JACofNoIdeas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitor Issue Onymaru42 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 02-11-2009 07:07 PM
Monitor Issue g2k556 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-01-2008 02:13 AM
Generic Host Process Issue mpearo Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-19-2007 06:37 PM
Monitor issue kilomark Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-13-2006 12:12 AM
Another monitor issue Ali1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-11-2005 12:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.