GeForce 8400 GS turned off? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2011, 08:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default GeForce 8400 GS turned off?

Hello TF people.
This computer got a GA-G31M-S2C motherboard and as it appears it's got an onboard graphics card. It seems to be conflicting with the Geforce 8400 GS inside it because the slightest games which run on a cousin's computer with the same processor but onboard graphics smoothly. Games like Swat 3, Age of Empires 2, Red Alert 2 aren't smooth at all.
This CPU is Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.00 GHz. It's got a 1 GB ram and a 160 GB Hdd.
Also, it's kind of weird that my GPU shows different specs than the ones on the website. On CPU-Z it shows :
Core clock 459 MHz
Shaders clock 918 MHz
Memory clock 400 MHz
Memory size 256 MB
And on GPU-Z : Texture fillrate 3.7 Gtexel/s
But on nvidia's official website :
Core Clock (MHz) 567
Shader Clock (MHz) 1400
Memory Clock (MHz) 400
Memory Amount 512MB
Texture Fill Rate (billion/sec) 3.6
Also according to GPU-Z, the GPU's temperature is always from 76C to 79C at idle or load, isn't that hot for a GPU?
Sorry for a too long post.
Thanks.
__________________

Skorpian is offline  
Old 07-21-2011, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: GeForce 8400 GS turned off?

I doubt that there's a conflict, but you should have the onboard graphics disabled in the BIOS regardless.

Have you tried updating the graphics drivers, is my first question?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-21-2011, 10:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: GeForce 8400 GS turned off?

I did update the graphics drivers.
I went to the bios, and found 2 options : Permanently enabling the onboard graphics -or- Enabling it only when there's no other GPU installed. So I chose the second.
But it doesn't make any sense that this computer isn't able to play what a weaker computer can play. Could it be related that I've recently used partition magic to fuse 5 partitions into 1? And the games are on that partition?
Skorpian is offline  
Old 07-21-2011, 11:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: GeForce 8400 GS turned off?

The specs will vary between vendors. I agree with Yami, Have you updated to the latest drivers? Also what os are you using XP?
__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 07-21-2011, 11:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: GeForce 8400 GS turned off?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skorpian View Post
I did update the graphics drivers.
I went to the bios, and found 2 options : Permanently enabling the onboard graphics -or- Enabling it only when there's no other GPU installed. So I chose the second.
But it doesn't make any sense that this computer isn't able to play what a weaker computer can play. Could it be related that I've recently used partition magic to fuse 5 partitions into 1? And the games are on that partition?
That's possible, But most likely it is something your overlooking. Does your friend's computer your referencing have 1g of ram as well? I would personally start with a fresh format and install after hearing you merged 5 partitions. But that may not be the best or only approach but it surely wouldn't hurt.
__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 07-22-2011, 12:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: GeForce 8400 GS turned off?

Yes that computer also got 1 GB of ram.
I don't know if you mean a new windows fresh install, or a format of the new partition which resulted of the merging. I did install a clean windows after merging. But I can't format this partition as I got no place to back up its important info now. The C partition is too small to hold anything.
Skorpian is offline  
Old 07-23-2011, 04:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: GeForce 8400 GS turned off?

Bump
Skorpian is offline  
Old 07-25-2011, 02:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: GeForce 8400 GS turned off?

Bump
Skorpian is offline  
Old 08-07-2011, 02:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 403
Default Re: GeForce 8400 GS turned off?

Okay problem got worse.
I wanted to diagnose if the GPU was the problem. So I went into bios and found an option called initial display device, which I changed to onboard and changed the bios settings to make the onboard opened permanently and now the computer screen is blank. What should I do?
Skorpian is offline  
Old 08-07-2011, 03:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: GeForce 8400 GS turned off?

Did you switch the cable from the 8400 to the onboard output?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce 8400? ACER4910 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-09-2010 07:21 PM
HELP! GeForce 8400 GS Problems ACER4910 System Upgrades 3 04-29-2010 08:17 PM
evga gtx 260 core 216, geforce 8400 and psu 650watt antec v8killaz Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 11-02-2009 04:57 PM
8400 saltynay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-27-2007 09:22 PM
Can i upgrade a dell 8400? Coke27 System Upgrades 4 03-09-2007 09:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.