GeForce 5200Fx PCI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2006, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5
Default GeForce 5200Fx PCI

I installed this on a new computer and when i boot, the monitor says no signal. However, the fan is moving on the video card. My motherboard is an Asus A8S-X.

as23 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8

Does your Motherboard have onboard video? If so you might need to disable it with a jumper on the motherboard.

graves85 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5

Nope, no onboard video
as23 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 08:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

have you tried it on another computer?
Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 08:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: yucca valley, California
Posts: 512
Send a message via AIM to Dr.Gootch Send a message via MSN to Dr.Gootch

i got exact problem, but i got a 5600 agp. the problem is ur powersupply. Need a more powerful wattage.. im on a 250 watt and it does same thing urs does. i put my card into a friends who has 480 watt and it boots fine the card runs sweet. Try a buddys pc to see if ur card is not dead. if it works need new psu.
Dr.Gootch is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

try it on a different PCI slot
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 12:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

Originally posted by apokalipse
try it on a different PCI slot
Yep...may have a bandwidth error in the assinged IRQ for that card. I doubt it is the power supply. REview you IRQ addresses and find the IRQ with the least traffic and assign that PCI slot manually in the bios.
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 02:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 5

I tried all 3 slots.....i have a 430 watt supply. Im going to try it in another computer

why is the card's fan on and nothing else?

* i just tried it in a system with 200w supply and the card worked

as23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.