Gefoce 8800 pci-e 16 Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2007, 01:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Gefoce 8800 pci-e 16 Question

Im look to buy this card Product list

& it requires a pci-e 16 6 pin connector it says on the page it comes with one but where do i plug the other end of the 6 pin connector to is the other end a male molex connector ?
__________________

viper880 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Gefoce 8800 pci-e 16 Question

its actually a female molex adapter usually two
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Gefoce 8800 pci-e 16 Question

I dunnue about the GTS BUT for the GTXs, they need two 6 pin connectors...

So if the GTS doesn't need two then it definitly needs at least one..

If your power supply doesn't have at least one, then it probably couldn't handle the card anyways.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: Gefoce 8800 pci-e 16 Question

Ok so where do i plug that into tho
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: Gefoce 8800 pci-e 16 Question

I have a 550 wats power supply but it just dont have a pci-e 16 connector but it that graphics card is ment to come with one but i just didnt know where to plug the other end into
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Gefoce 8800 pci-e 16 Question

the card sells for more than newegg
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: Gefoce 8800 pci-e 16 Question

newegg dont ship to australia but & the reason its cheaper is because this is australian price & newegg is american currency :P
viper880 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Gefoce 8800 pci-e 16 Question

Trust me in not stupid
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper880 View Post
Ok so where do i plug that into tho
[psu]<two molex>[adapter]<single 6 pin>[video card]
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 01:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia ,Nsw
Posts: 94
Send a message via MSN to viper880 Send a message via Yahoo to viper880
Default Re: Gefoce 8800 pci-e 16 Question

Ok so am i gonna have to buy my self a adpator or will the the molex connector on the end of th 6 pin pci-e connector connect into 1 of my other molex connectors that runs from the PSU
__________________

viper880 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 Ultra benchmarks maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 22 12-18-2007 12:10 AM
8800 GTS vs 8600 GTS RisingFalls New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-29-2007 08:28 AM
question about cooling a 8800 GTX plumber4578 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 06-18-2007 10:41 PM
Question about the nVidia 8600 and the 8800 DasDaBizzatch New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-05-2007 12:20 AM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.