Gaming computer won't boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 06:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default Gaming computer won't boot

Hi, I bought my son a gaming computer, and have everything in place, but when I try to use a CD or any CD it does nothing at all. What could this be, and how can I fix it? Thanks in advance!
__________________

hazzer747 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Alright well you are a little vague there, are you trying to install windows? If so then go into the BIOS by pressing a key (it usually says when u start the computer what key to enter setup or something along those lines). Find a place where it says boot order in the BIOS, you may have to look around if you are unfamiliar with your BIOS. Set the first device to boot to be your cd drive, then save and reboot your comp with the cd in and it will go into the setup.

If after you've done that and it doesnt boot then it means somethings wrong with the drive, make sure its plugged in right.
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

My description was pretty vauge so i will be more specific. When i load up it comes to a screen that says my processor name and has two options one to go into BIOS and one to do an Xpress recovery. When i try either nothing happens and i have tried 3 diffrent keyboards and thats not the problem.
hazzer747 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

well when u went into the BIOS, did u anything? if u r tryin to install windows, go into the BIOS and set the 1st boot priority to CD-ROM
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
Default

The problem is I can not load anything it does not load or boot up at all.
hazzer747 is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to digima$ter
Default

U sure there's nothing wrong with your system? It could be your cd-rom or the system doesn't recognize the cdr-rom so it doesn't recognize your drive.
__________________
<a href=\"http://magicsig.com/\" title=\"free glitter signature maker\"><img alt=\"my sig\" src=\"http://my.magicsig.com/ofb5rg8l6e.gif\" /><br />Made with MagicSig.com, a free glitter signature maker</a>
digima$ter is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 12:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Unplug everything but the ram, video card and cpu and try booting.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 03:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mike4realz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 404
Default

most likely a cd-rom problem
__________________

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83Ghz || 4GB OCZ 1066 DDR2 RAM || GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P Motherboard ||
PNY XLR8 GTX 470 || Raptor 300GB 10,000 RPM HDD RAID0 || Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
mike4realz is offline  
Old 12-30-2005, 03:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default

Sure you cant get into BIOS by pressing the delete Key then making it boot from the CD before it boots from the Harddrive?
__________________

__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.