Games Crashing when AC adapter/Mains power plugged in... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2012, 04:10 PM   #21 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Games Crashing when AC adapter/Mains power plugged in...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollonever1 View Post
Hey, Thanks for the replies!
Well, the 'good stick' I have in now has only been tried in the second slot, whereas my other RAM stick, which in slot 1 failed to boot up at all, and in slot 2 worked for a while, but froze on shutdown. I'm a bit hesitant to put this stick in the what I think is the 'bad' slot in case of the event that it somehow messes up my good stick.
I did have a little go with booting up a game with this good stick in (with the lowest specs due to only have 2GB ram now) just to test It and it did still freeze...so I'm not sure if it has caused electrical damage to something else on my computer...device manager and all that jazz says that everything is working correctly, but I never think I should trust it :/
It won't ruin the good stick unless the bad slot would actually be shorting the chips out; but you could tell this by seeing burn marks or some physical evidence on the bad stick.

If you're worried your good stick is going back, run a Memtest86+ ( Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool ) on it, like I previously suggested. Firstly though, I would try putting the good stick in the other slot just to see if its a slot or a memory problem.

Edit: Also, a link to RAM that would workfor your laptop if you decide to order a new kit of two 2GB sticks: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231156
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-16-2012, 08:38 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 10
Default Re: Games Crashing when AC adapter/Mains power plugged in...

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
It won't ruin the good stick unless the bad slot would actually be shorting the chips out; but you could tell this by seeing burn marks or some physical evidence on the bad stick.

If you're worried your good stick is going back, run a Memtest86+ ( Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool ) on it, like I previously suggested. Firstly though, I would try putting the good stick in the other slot just to see if its a slot or a memory problem.

Edit: Also, a link to RAM that would workfor your laptop if you decide to order a new kit of two 2GB sticks: Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 200-Pin DDR2 SO-DIMM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Laptop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBSQ
I checked the slots and the stick and there's definitely no evidence of burning or anything like that- both the sticks still look new. I put the good stick in the first slot (the one I thought was 'bad') and its was running ok. Though on task manager, I did notice that on idle, in that 'bad' slot, my good stick was using 1.3GB/1.4GB without any programs open. Whereas, it was using around 700MB when in the 'good' second slot. It the second slot however, it did crash about 2 hours into use, but I was using Photoshop, and on task manager, pretty much all my RAM was being used up with only the 2GB in, so it probably just froze due to it having no more memory to use. Vista doesnt seem to run too well, or too fast, on only 2gb. So now ive currently got the good stick in the 'bad' first slot, and the 'bad' stick in the second slot where it worked before (but this stick didn't work in the first slot) and I havent actually had any freezing (yet) but I am only using firefox. With both sticks in, it says I'm using 40% of my physical memory. Im not sure if it would be worth getting 4gb sticks, or at least 1 4GB stick to go with my good 2GB stick (even though they cost a leg). Basically, right now the sticks are in the other slot to what they were originally.
Though I'm just hoping thats the only problem, as my computer seems to be using a hefty amount of its CPU most of the time... I'll let you know if it crashes or anything, thanks
__________________

Apollonever1 is offline  
Old 05-16-2012, 10:42 PM   #23 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Games Crashing when AC adapter/Mains power plugged in...

Vista is a real memory hog and that is well known. I suggest upgrading to windows 7 for better performance However if this is too expensive just get more RAM and you should be fine
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
900HD Turn off when A/C adapter plugged in? 95BlackGA Netbooks 3 10-04-2010 06:25 PM
Dell Inspiron E1505 freezes when power is plugged/unplugged nathaliev Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-07-2008 05:51 PM
Crashing games? LeftEyeBlind Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 01-13-2008 12:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.